Prayer is powerful

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, January 2, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

We are to be considerate (reasonable, fair minded, and charitable) to those outside the church, and not just to fellow believers. This means we are not to seek revenge against those who treat us unfairly, nor are we to be overly vocal about our personal rights.

Imagine never worrying about anything! It seems like an impossibility; we all have worries on the job, in our homes, at school. But Paul’s advice is to turn our worries into prayers. Do you want to worry less? Then pray more! Whenever you start to worry, stop and pray.

God’s peace is different from the world’s peace (see John 14:271). True peace is not found in positive thinking, in absence of conflict, or in good feelings. It comes from knowing that God is in control. Let God’s peace guard your heart against anxiety. (NLT)

Philippians 4:4-9 – Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice! Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. Remember, the Lord is coming soon.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

And now, dear brothers and sisters, let me say one more thing as I close this letter. Fix your thoughts on what is true and honorable and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely and admirable.   Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned from me and heard from me and saw me doing, and the God of peace will be with you.

Prayer to help those hurting

 

 

 

 

 

Pray for one another. . . . The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective. – James 5:16 (NRSV)

Helen Haidle (Oregon) titled her story “PRAYER ASSIGNMENTS;” here is Helen’s story:

“When my polio flared up after 51 years, I was confined to bed with debilitating weakness. I felt helpless and utterly useless. What good is my life? I thought. I can barely take care of myself, let alone help anyone else. My husband reassured me with, ‘You probably haven’t finished your work yet.’

“One night I had a vivid dream: many children approached me, and I laid my hands on their heads, praying for each one. When I awoke I wondered, Is prayer the ‘work’ I have yet to do? Who needs my prayers?

“The next day a TV reporter highlighted an amber alert for a child in Iowa. Then the late news showed photos of two children whose father had died in Iraq while serving in the U.S. Army. Each tragedy and need became my prayer assignment as I asked God to care for these children. During my three months of bed rest, prayer assignments changed my mood as well as my attitude. Prayer was the work I could do.

“Prayer is a privilege God gives each of us to bless others. Besides enriching our lives and the lives of those for whom we pray, our prayers for others will someday bring our Master’s commendation: ‘Well done, good and faithful servant!’ (Matt. 25:21, NIV).”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Have I finished the work God has given me?

Prayer: Dear God, we trust you to work “behind the scenes” as we pray. Help us to fulfill whatever work assignments you give us. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WHO FEEL THEY ARE NO LONGER NEEDED

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

1 The end result of the Holy Spirit’s work in our lives is deep and lasting peace. Unlike worldly peace, which is usually defined as the absence of conflict, this peace is confident assurance in any circumstance; with Christ’s peace, we have no need to fear the present or the future.  If your life is full of stress, allow the Holy Spirit to fill you with Christ’s peace.  (NLT)

John 14:27 – [Jesus said] “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give isn’t like the peace the world gives.  So don’t be troubled or afraid.

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

