Expecting His help no matter how severe our limitations

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Friday, January 8, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

As we face the sunset years, we recognize that God has been our constant help in the past. As physical powers wane, we need God even more, and we realize he is still our constant help. We must never despair, but keep on expecting his help no matter how severe our limitations. Hope in him helps us to keep going. To keep serving him.

A person is never too old to serve God, never too old to pray. Though age may stop us from certain physical activities, it need not end our desire to tell others (especially children) about all we have seen God do in our many years of life. (NLT)

Psalm 71:9-18 – And now, in my old age, don’t set me aside. Don’t abandon me when my strength is failing. For my enemies are whispering against me. They are plotting together to kill me. They say, “God has abandoned him. Let’s go and get him, for there is no one to help him now.”

O God, don’t stay away. My God, please hurry to help me. Bring disgrace and destruction on those who accuse me. May humiliation and shame cover those who want to harm me.

But I will keep on hoping for you to help me; I will praise you more and more. I will tell everyone about your righteousness. All day long I will proclaim your saving power, for I am overwhelmed by how much you have done for me. I will praise your mighty deeds, O Sovereign Lord. I will tell everyone that you alone are just and good.

O God, you have taught me from my earliest childhood, and I have constantly told others about the wonderful things you do. Now that I am old and gray, do not abandon me, O God.

challenges

 

 

 

 

 

We do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. – 2 Corinthians 4:16 (NIV)

Steven Thompson (Iowa) titled his story “OUR YOUTHFUL GOD;” here is Steven’s story:

“At times the challenges of aging – aches and pains, strained eyesight, muffled hearing, and ‘senior moments’ – cause doubts and fears within me. Troubling questions surface: Will my mind fall prey to dementia? Will I lose mobility and be placed in a care facility? Will unforeseen circumstances deplete my finances? Sometimes I even imagine that God is growing feeble with me.

“When my faith is challenged by these questions, I recall what God has done in the past. God lifted my family out of a financial crisis and sustained us during my back surgery. God helped me overcome the rejection and ridicule of others when I faced a personal trial. When I reflect on my life, I realize that God has never failed me.

“Recalling these instances reminds me that God’s power has not waned. While the strength and vigor of my physical body fade, the eternal youth of God’s Holy Spirit restores my soul daily. I am constantly assured that God, who empowered and guided me throughout my working years, is also able to help me meet the demands of aging.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Even as I grow older, God restores my soul daily.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for being with us and sustaining us throughout the challenges of each stage of life. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WHO FEAR AGING

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

