You place your hand of blessing on my head

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, January 23, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

Thanksgiving should be an integral part of our praise to God. This theme is woven throughout the Psalms. As we praise and thank God for material and spiritual blessings, we should also thank him for answered prayer. Remember when you asked God for protection, strength, comfort, patience, love, or other special needs, and he supplied them. Beware of taking God’s provision and answered prayer for granted.

God is with us through every situation, in every trial—protecting, loving, guiding. He knows and loves us completely. (NLT)

Psalm 139:1-10 – O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my every thought when far away. You chart the path ahead of me and tell me where to stop and rest. Every moment you know where I am. You know what I am going to say even before I say it, Lord. You both precede and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to know!

I can never escape from your spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the place of the dead, you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me.

heart beating for a purpose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The psalmist wrote, “You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.” — Psalm 139:3

Mark Weinrich (Nevada) titled his story “EVEN A SIGH;” here is Mark’s story:

“Until my battle with cancer I never understood the difference between being tired and being fatigued. When I was tired, an inner push still allowed me to accomplish certain tasks. But when I was fatigued, I could push no more. I felt lower than a pothole. Sometimes I had no energy to eat, let alone take a shower. One morning I was exhausted all I could do was sign. Then in my devotions I discovered Psalm 38:9: ‘O Lord, all my longing is known to you; my sighing is not hidden from you.’ What a boost I felt in my spirit! God loved me no matter how weary or discouraged I had become. God knew how I felt and what I longed for.

“I am overwhelmed by God’s intimate love for us – that God listens for something as small as a sigh. Though our suffering may seem a huge burden, it can never keep God from caring for us.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – No matter how low I feel, God offers grace to lift me up.

Prayer: Dear God, we thank you that there is nothing – no matter how disabling – that can keep us from you. In our suffering be our comforter and bring us peace. Amen.

Prayer Focus: CANCER PATIENTS

To read Other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

