Offerings of help for today and hope for the future

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, February 13, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

David’s greatest desire was to live in God’s presence each day of his life. Sadly, this is not the greatest desire of many who claim to be believers. But those who desire to live in God’s presence each day will be able to enjoy that relationship forever.

Many have had the sad experience of being abandoned by father or mother. Broken homes, differences of belief, addiction to drugs or alcohol, even psychological isolation can leave children crippled by this loss. Even as adults, the pain may linger. God can take that place in our life, fill that void, and heal that hurt. He can direct us to adults who may take the role of father or mother for us. His love is sufficient for all our needs.

The “land of the living” simply means “this life.” David was obviously going through a trial, but he was confident that in this present life, God would see him through it.

Wait for God is not easy. Often it seems that he isn’t answering our prayers or doesn’t understand the urgency of our situation. That kind of thinking implies that God is not in control or is not fair. But God is worth waiting for. Hope in and wait for the Lord because often God uses times of waiting to refresh, renew, and teach us. Make good use of your waiting times by discovering what God may be trying to teach you in them. (NLT)

Psalm 27:1-14 – The Lord is my light and my salvation—so why should I be afraid? The Lord protects me from danger—so why should I tremble?

When evil people come to destroy me, when my enemies and foes attack me, they will stumble and fall. Though a mighty army surrounds me, my heart will know no fear. Even if they attack me, I remain confident.

The one thing I ask of the Lord—the thing I seek most—is to live in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, delighting in the Lord’s perfections and meditating in his Temple. For he will conceal me there when troubles come, he will hide me in his sanctuary. He will place me out of reach on a high rock. Then I will hold my head high, above my enemies who surround me. At this Tabernacle I will offer sacrifices with shouts of joy, singing and praising the Lord with music.

Listen to my pleading, O Lord. Be merciful and answer me! My heart has heard you say, “Come and talk with me.” And my heart responds, “Lord, I am coming.” Do not hide yourself from me. Do not reject your servant in anger. You have always been my helper. Don’t leave me now; don’t abandon me, O God of my salvation! Even if my father and mother abandon me, the Lord will hold me close.

Teach me how to live, O Lord. Lead me along the path of honesty, for my enemies are waiting for me to fall. Do not let me fall into their hands. For they accuse me of things I’ve never done and breathe out violence against me. Yet I am confident that I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living.

Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.

hope is important

 

 

 

 

Surely God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid, for the Lord God is my strength and my might. – Isaiah 12:2 (NRSV)

Kim Leon’s (Missouri) story is titled “MY STRENGTH AND MY SONG;” here is a portion of Kim’s story:

“When my four-year-old woke up with glassy eyes and a fever, I didn’t think I had the physical or emotional energy to deal with yet another illness. I am distressed when my children are sick because I don’t want them to suffer and also because I realize that I am not in control. I can’t take away their sickness or discomfort. I also need to accept that my plans must change. . . .

“At times like these, I can choose to focus my energy on lamenting the situation and wishing it were different, which makes me feel defeated and overwhelmed. Or I can remember that ‘the Lord God is my strength and my might,’ which makes me feel lighter and more hopeful. I am still facing the same challenges; but when I turn to God, my spirit is lifted. I can more easily see the ways God is at work in the situation. . . Although the situation is not what I would have chosen, when I look for God’s presence, I find strength and joy.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Leaning on God lightens my burdens and lifts my spirit.

Prayer: Dear God, when we face challenging situations, remind us that you are with us and that we can rely on you for strength. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

