All who are weary, carrying heavy burdens

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, March 7, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

A yoke is a heavy wooden harness that fits over the shoulders of an ox or oxen. It is attached to a piece of equipment the oxen are to pull. A person may be carrying heavy burdens of (1) sin, (2) excessive demands of religious leaders, (3) oppression and persecution, or (4) weariness in the search of God.

Jesus frees people from all these burdens. The rest that Jesus promises is love, healing, and peace with God, not the end of all labor. A relationship with God changes meaningless, wearisome toil into spiritual productivity and purpose. (NLT)

Matthew 11:28-30 – Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke fits perfectly, and the burden I give you is light.”

Dear-God-give-me-strength-to-face-trouble[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” — Matthew 11:28 (NIV)

Geneva Cobb Iijima (Oregon) titled her story “COME!” Here is a portion of Geneva’s story:

“’Jonathan, come upstairs for lunch,’ I called to my four-year-old grandson.

“’Okay, Grandma,’ Jonathan answered, but he didn’t come.

“I called again and again. . . .

“Then I realized that I needed to take my own advice as I struggled with concerns about my mom. . . .

“In this experience with my grandson I saw God’s message to me that it was not enough for me to know from scripture that God offers me rest from my worries. I need to respond to the invitation to bring my worries to God in prayer. In the case of my mother, that meant praying about my anxiety over her transition and trusting God to give me wisdom.

“It is the same with any worry we have. We can pray about each concewrn and ask God to show us the way through. Then, we can let go of the problem and rest, knowing that God will lead us to a solution.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God is calling me. How will I respond?

Prayer: Dear Lord, we come to you now with our worries. Help us give them to you and trust that you will guide us through them. Amen.

“Then I realized that

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

