Are my plans His Plans?

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, April 7, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

When a builder doesn’t count the cost or estimates it inaccurately, his building may be left half completed. Will your Christian life be abandoned after a little while because you did not count the cost of commitment to Jesus? Following Christ does not mean a trouble-free life. (NLT)

Luke 14:28-30 – [Jesus said] “But don’t begin until you count the cost. For who would begin construction of a building without first getting estimates and then checking to see if there is enough money to pay the bills? Otherwise, you might complete only the foundation before running out of funds. And then how everyone would laugh at you! They would say, ‘There’s the person who started that building and ran out of money before it was finished!’”

life we have planned

 

 

 

Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. – Psalm 127:1 (NRSV)

Kenneth Avon White (Tennessee) titled his story “GOD’S BLUEPRINTS;” here is Kenneth’s story:

“In high school I took an architectural drafting class because I wanted to build shimmering towers like those in my hometown of Houston, Texas. But instead of being inspired to design something big and grand, I was instructed to draw letters of the alphabet and a metal bolt. I got bored fast!

“Even though I didn’t pursue architecture as a career, I still feel the desire to build and create. But my dreaming has led me down some pretty bumpy roads: business with an unethical partner, money lost on risky ideas, trying to launch a cutting-edge ministry without mentors and prayer partners.

“About the time I realized that my latest venture was going nowhere, I came across Psalm 127. I became painfully aware that too often I fail to discern if my plans are God’s plans.

“We can listen for God’s instructions by studying the Bible – our Creator’s blueprint for living – and then taking action as the Spirit guides us. Now when I have a plan, I write down all the steps and details, pray about each of them, and alter any that do not reflect the values and principles laid out in scripture. Only when we have put our plans completely into God’s hands can we glorify God in what we accomplish.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How do I seek God’s guidance when I am making plans?

Prayer: Father God, help us to know and remain focused on your designs for building our lives in ways that are pleasing to you. Amen.

Prayer Focus: ENTREPRENEURS

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

