Wisdom comes from allowing His teachings to guide us

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

God’s Word makes us wise—wiser than our enemies and wiser than any teachers who ignore it. Ture wisdom goes beyond amassing knowledge; it is applying knowledge in a life-changing way. Intelligent or experienced people are not necessarily wise. Wisdom comes from allowing God’s teachings to guide us. (NLT)

Psalm 119:97-105 – Oh, how I love your law! I think about it all day long. Your commands make me wiser than my enemies, for your commands are my constant guide. Yes, I have more insight than my teachers, for I am always thinking of your decrees. I am even wiser than my elders, for I have kept your commandments. I have refused to walk on any path of evil, that I may remain obedient to your word. I haven’t turned away from your laws, for you have taught me well. How sweet are your words to my taste; they are sweeter than honey. Your commandments give me understanding; no wonder I hate every false way of life.

Your word is a lamp for my feet and a light for my path.

Bible Emergency Numbers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in your word. – Psalm 119:114 (NIV)

Lynn Karidis (Michigan) titled her story “BEING PREPARED;” here is Lynn’s story:

“What began as an ordinary meal with a friend changed the instant Laura began choking on her dinner. Sitting across the table, Elin knew she had only seconds to respond. Jumping to her feet and praying, ‘Lord, let this work,’ she wrapped her arms around Laura and began applying the Heimlich maneuver. Three abdominal thrusts later, the food dislodged from Laura’s throat. Elin’s experience demonstrated the benefit of preparation. In that moment, a technique she learned many years ago and had never before needed help to save her friend’s life.

“I’ve noticed the same principle at work in my spiritual life. Biblical truths I learned long ago become essential in today’s times of crisis. Passages that seemed boring suddenly come to life when I’m faced with a similar circumstance. If I hadn’t taken the time to learn those truths, the wisdom wouldn’t have been within me when I needed it.

“Experiences such as Elin’s motivate me to engage in regular Bible study with others. Then, in the midst of a trial, the Spirit brings to mind what I’ve learned and provides the help I need. Just as Elin had to learn the Heimlich maneuver to be prepared for a moment of crisis, I need to prepare so that I can face whatever potentially destructive circumstances enter my life.”

Prayer: Dear Father, help us to faithfully read your word daily so we will be prepared for the trials life brings. Amen.

Prayer Focus: BIBLE STUDY PARTICIPANTS

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

