Only He can make your life worthwhile, purposeful, meaningful

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, April 18, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

Because life is short, live for God while you have the time. Don’t waste your life by selecting an inferior purpose that has no lasting value. Only God can make your life worthwhile, purposeful, nd meaningful.

Rejoicing in God’s care; whether in times of prosperity or adversity, blessed are those whose God is the Lord. (NLT)

Psalm 144:1-15 – Bless the Lord, who is my rock. He gives me strength for war and skill for battle. He is my loving ally and my fortress, my tower of safety, my deliverer.   He stands before me as a shield, and I take refuge in him. He subdues the nations under me.

O Lord, what are mortals that you should notice us, mere humans that you should care for us? For we are like a breath of air; our days are like a passing shadow.

Bend down the heavens, Lord, and come down. Touch the mountains so they billow smoke. Release your lightning bolts and scatter your enemies! Release your arrows and confuse them! Reach down from heaven and rescue me; deliver me from deep waters, from the power of my enemies. Their mouths are full of lies; they swear to tell the truth, but they lie.

I will sing a new song to you, O God! I will sing your praises with a ten-stringed harp. For you grant victory to kings! You are the one who rescued your servant David. Save me from the fatal sword! Rescue me from the power of my enemies. Their mouths are full of lies; they swear to tell the truth, but they lie.

May our sons flourish in their youth like well-nurtured plants. May our daughters be like graceful pillars, carved to beautify a palace. May our farms be filled with crops of every kind. May the flocks in our fields multiply by the thousands, even tens of thousands, and may our oxen be loaded down with produce. May there be no breached walls, no forced exile, no cries of distress in our squares. Yes, happy are those who have it like this! Happy indeed are those whose God is the Lord.

life love memory

 

 

 

 

 

 

Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. – Matthew 6:10 (NIV)

Lisa Ward (Alabama) titled “THE SOLDIER;” here is a portion of Lisa’s story:

“Watching my son line up with his platoon, I stood lost in memories. . . .

“My heart cried out to God. I prayed that God would protect him and that he would be open to know God. In my heart, I placed my son in God’s care, saying, ‘Your will be done.’ I wanted to protect my son from the dangers of the war. I could not protect him, but I could trust God. I had released my son into the hands of his Creator. . . .

“Whatever happens, I know God will be with us. We cannot control all the circumstances in our lives, but we can trust God to carry us through the darkness. Because God’s grace and mercy endure, God will never fail us.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – In the storms of life, God reaches out to carry us.

Prayer: Faithful God, may your will be done in our lives today, and may we trust you with all we have. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

