Trust Him even when He doesn’t answer us immediately

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

David frequently claimed that God was slow to act on his behalf. We often feel this same impatience. It seems that evil and suffering go unchecked, and we wonder when God is going to stop them. David affirmed that he would continue to trust God no matter how long he had to wait for God’s justice to be realized. When you feel impatient, remember David’s steadfast faith in God’s unfailing love. (NLT)

Psalm 13:1-6 – O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever? How long will you look the other way? How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul, with sorrow in my heart every day? How long will my enemy have the upper hand?

Turn and answer me, O Lord my God! Restore the light to my eyes, or I will die. Don’t let my enemies gloat, saying, “We have defeated him!” Don’t let them rejoice at my downfall.

But I trust in your unfailing love. I will rejoice because you have rescued me. I will sing to the Lord because he has been so good to me.

Wait-for-the-Lord[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord! — Psalm 27:14 (NRSV)

Sue A. Fairchild (Pennsylvania) titled her story “WAITING FOR GOD;” here is Sue’s story:

“Recently one of my close friends described the way God had quickly answered her prayer. After hearing about her experience, I found myself not glad for her, but jealous. For over a year now I had searched for a new job without success. I couldn’t understand why God was not quicker to help me in my current situation. Why did my friend have a quick answer, while I had to wait for God to act?

“After seeking answers in my Bible, I realized that many people before me had waited. David waited years to become king. The people of Israel waited for generations to find their promised land. Joseph and Mary waited to see how their son would save his people. The disciples waited following the crucifixion of Jesus to find out what was happening – what the true outcome of Jesus’ death would be.

“God still calls us to wait. We do not know the what, where, or why of how God works; but Romans 8:28 tells us that ‘all things work together for good for those who love God’ – even if it takes longer than we’d like!”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – While I wait, I will trust in God.

Prayer: O Lord, we pray that you will give us an attitude of peace and gratitude for the blessings you have shown us. Give us strength to wait for you even in the toughest situations. Amen.

Prayer Focus: PEOPLE WAITING FOR ANSWERS FROM GOD

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

