Blessings He promises

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, May 14, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

The people of Malachi’s day ignored God’s command to give a tithe of their income to his Temple. They may have feared losing what they had worked so hard to get, but in this they misjudged God. Everything we have is from God; so when we refuse to return to him a part of what he has given, we rob him. “If you give, you will receive,” he says. When we give, we must remember that the blessings God promises are not always material. (NLT)

Malachi 3:6-12 – “I am the Lord, and I do not change. That is why you descendants of Jacob are not already completely destroyed. Ever since the days of your ancestors, you have scorned my laws and failed to obey them. Now return to me, and I will return to you,” says the Lord Almighty.

“But you ask, ‘How can we return when we have never gone away?’

“Should people cheat God? Yet you have cheated me!

“But you ask, ‘What do you mean? When did we ever cheat you?’

“You have cheated me of the tithes and offerings due to me. You are under a curse, for your whole nation has been cheating me. Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says the Lord Almighty, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Let me prove it to you! Your crops will be abundant, for I will guard them from insects and disease. Your grapes will not shrivel before they are ripe,” says the Lord Almighty. “Then all nations will call you blessed, for your land will be such a delight,” says the Lord Almighty.

Thank you God for your blessings

 

 

 

 

 

 

Megan L. Anderson (Indiana) titled her story “REBUILDING OUR FAITH;” here is a portion of Megan’s story:

“Bills and paperwork for my struggling business were strewn around my cramped living space. I couldn’t help but wonder if my surroundings were the ruins of a failed life, the evidence of unmet expectations. Is God disappointed in me? I wondered. If not, where is God in this moment?

“. . . The answer is the same for us. God loves us right where we are today. What we may see as ruins, God sees as building blocks for lives greater than we could imagine for ourselves. As we shift our focus from our messy surroundings to God’s presence, God will redeem and rebuild our lives.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – In the midst of my troubles, where can I sense God’s presence?

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for your unfailing love and closeness, no matter where we are in life. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

