When we are resting in His strength

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, June 13, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

David expressed his feelings to God and then reaffirmed his faith. Prayer can release our tensions in times of emotional stress. Trusting God to be our rock, salvation, and fortress will change our entire outlook on life. No longer must we be held captive by resentment toward others when they hurt us. When we are resting in God’s strength, nothing can shake us. (NLT)

Psalm 62:1-8 – O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water.

I have seen you in your sanctuary and gazed upon your power and glory. Your unfailing love is better to me than life itself; how I praise you! I will honor you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer. You satisfy me more than the richest of foods. I will praise you with songs of joy.

I like awake thinking of you, meditating on you through the night. I think how much you have helped me; I sing for joy in the shadow of your protecting wings. I follow close behind you; your strong right hand holds me securely.

Give-me-strength-carry-me[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jesus said, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” –Mark 6:31 (NIV)

Dave Beckwith (California) titled his story “FINDING REST;” here is a portion of Dave’s story:

“Often I would find myself overstressed and running on fumes – and ending up exhausted and grumpy. My to-do list would grow longer every day, and I longed to escape to some deserted island. Then, one exhausting day, I heard God speaking to my churning mind with words from Psalm 62: ‘My soul finds rest in God alone.’ How I longed for this rest! And I knew that this kind of soul-satisfying rest comes only from God.

“As a way of seeking this rest, I began taking 15 to 20 minutes during a busy day to slow down and be alone with God. . . . Sometimes, I took a walk or found a quiet place to sit. I would talk with God about the pressures in that day. One afternoon, I wondered, Why does God let human beings get tired? . . . And then I realized that tiredness may be Jesus’ calling us to himself. . . .”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Taking time to rest with God each day can renew and refresh me.

Prayer: Creator God, thank you for giving us rest in you. We come, weary and tired, to find strength in your presence. Renew us and sustain us with your love. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE OVERWHELMED BY STRESS

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

