I trust Him to be with me while I face my fears

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, June 23, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

Imagine never worrying about anything! It seems like an impossibility; we all have worries on the job, in our homes, at school. But Paul’s advice is to turn our worries into prayers. Do you want to worry less? Then pray more! Whenever you start to worry, stop and pray.

Paul could get along happily because he could see life from God’s point of view. He focused on what he was supposed to do, not what he felt he should have. Paul had is priorities straight, and he was grateful for everything God had given him. Paul had detached himself from the non-essentials so that he could concentrate on the eternal. Often the desire for more or better possessions is really a longing to fill an empty place in a person’s life. To what are you drawn when you feel empty inside? How can you find true contentment? The answer lies in your perspective, your priorities, and your source of power.

Can we really do everything? The power we receive in union with Christ is a sufficient to do his will and to face the challenges that arise from our commitment to doing it. He does not grant us superhuman ability to accomplish anything we can imagine without regard to his interests. As we contend for the faith, we will face troubles, pressures, and trials. As they come, ask Christ to strengthen you. (NLT)

Philippians 4:6-8, 12-13 – Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

And now, dear brothers and sisters, let me say one more thing as I close this letter. Fix your thoughts on what is true and honorable and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.

I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.

Fear Not for I am with you

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. –Isaiah 41:10 (NIV)

Carole Harmon (Idaho) titled her story “FEARFUL?” Here is a portion of Carole’s story:

“. . . As an adult, I face different fears: losing a loved one or someone breaking into my home at night. Yet in the scriptures, God says, ‘Do not fear, for I am with you.’ This assurance leaves me with a choice. I can put the pillow over my eyes and fail to experience the courage and peace God offers. Or I can face my fears and trust God to help me. I’ve found that repeating uplifting Bible verses helps me to trust God and overcome my fear – verses like, ‘I can do all things through him who strengthens me’ or ‘I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety’ (Ps. 4:8).

“As we trust and obey God, our fears can fade away and we can open our eyes to God’s sustaining care for us.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – I can trust God to be with me.

Prayer: Dear Father, when we’re afraid, help us turn to you in faith and trust. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

