You will find your heart elevated from daily distractions to lasting confidence

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, July 4, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

David made a vow to praise God each day. David continually praised God through both the good and difficult times of his life. Do you find something to praise God for each day? As you do, you will find your heart elevated from daily distractions to lasting confidence.

David expressed his feelings to God and then reaffirmed his faith. Prayer can release our tensions in times of emotional stress. Trusting God to be our rock, salvation, and fortress will change our entire outlook on life. No longer must we be held captive by resentment toward others when they hurt us. When we are resting in God’s strength, nothing can shake us. (NLT)

Psalm 62:1-12 – I wait quietly before God, for my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will never be shaken.

So my enemies against one man—all of them trying to kill me. To them I’m just a broken-down wall or a tottering fence. They plan to topple me from my high position. They delight in telling lies about me. They are friendly to my face, but they curse me in their hearts.

I wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.

O my people, trust in him at all times. Pour out our heart to him, for God is our refuge.

From the greatest to the lowliest—all are nothing in his sight. If you weigh them on the scales, they are lighter than a puff of air. Don’t try to get rich by extortion or robbery. And if your wealth increases, don’t make it the center of your life.

God has spoken plainly, and I have heard it many times: Power, O God, belongs to you; unfailing love, O Lord, is yours. Surely you judge all people according to what they have done.

Comfort, Laughter, Heart, Hugs,Friendship,Beauty,Confidence,Faith,Courage,Patience,Love

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The psalmist wrote, “Truly my soul waiteth upon God: from him cometh my salvation.” –Psalm 62:1 (KJV)

Wayne Greenawalt (Illinois) titled his story “WAIT ON THE LORD;” here is a portion of Wayne’s story:

“. . . I spend a lot of time waiting, and it seems like time wasted. I’d rather be busy.

“But not all waiting is wasted time. Passage after passage in scripture implores us to ‘wait on the Lord.’ The instruction is hard for me to take. Waiting goes against my grain and seems trivial compared to being up and doing. But waiting on the Lord is essential to experiencing a vital Christian life.

“When God calls on us to wait, it isn’t simply downtime. Waiting on the Lord involves intentionality. For me, it begins with shutting out distractions and continues with meditating on a passage of scripture. I then petition the Lord for wisdom and guidance with the expectation that God will answer. Waiting on the Lord can be productive. God has promised us strength to meet life’s challenges and to rise above difficulties (Isa. 40:31). The Lord is patiently standing by, ready to engage us. We must come and wait to experience God’s blessing.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Time spent waiting on the Lord is not wasted time.

Prayer: Dear watchful and caring God, give us the will to take time from, our busy schedules to be with you. Amen.

Prayer Focus: BUSY PEOPLE

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

