Songs of praise

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Sunday, July 17, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

This chapter is a hymn of praise—another graphic description of the people’s joy when Jesus Christ comes to reign over the earth. Even now we need to express our gratitude to God, thanking him, praising him, and telling others about him. From the depths of our gratitude, we must praise him. And we should share the Good News with others. (NLT)

Isaiah 12:1-6 – In that day you will sing:

“Praise the Lord! He was angry with me, but now he comforts me. See, God has come to save me. I will trust in him and not be afraid. The Lord God is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”

With joy you will drink deeply from the fountain of salvation! In that wonderful day you will sing:

“Thank the Lord! Praise his name! Tell the world what he has done. Oh, how mighty he is! Sing to the Lord, for he has done wonderful things. Make known his praise around the world. Let all the people of Jerusalem shout his praise with joy! For great is the Holy One of Israel who lives among you.”

Trust-His-will[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isaiah wrote, “In that day you will say: . . . ‘I will trust and not be afraid.’” –Isaiah 12:1-2 (NIV)

David F. Knecht (North Dakota) titled his story “LET IT BE;” here is a portion of David’s story:

“The song ‘Let It Be,’ written in 1970 by Paul McCartney, has always brought me comfort. The song has become a new reminder in my life as I age. I am 88 years old, and often there comes the awareness that I am not able to do all the things that I once could. . . .

“All of my working life, I served as a pastor of local churches. So many times I said to someone dealing with a difficulty: ‘We are called to trust God and not be afraid.’ I tried to reassure them with the words, ‘There will be an answer; let it be.’

“But now it is me and my life! Faced with circumstances that I have not faced before, it is time to put my trust to the test. I have discovered in new ways that the promises of God are true. And day by day God is enabling me to ‘let it be’ in Hands that are much more capable and caring than mine.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – What new responsibility is God calling me to take on?

Prayer: Dear God, teach us to let go and to trust you for all of the future you give us. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

