When you feel lonely; when you feel depressed

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, July 30, 2016

Today’s scripture reading:

When you feel lonely; when you feel depressed, meditate on God’s kindness and love.

Depression is one of the most common emotional ailments. One antidote for depression is to meditate on the record of God’s goodness to his people. This will take your mind off the present situation as you focus your thoughts on God’s ability to help you rather than on your inability to help yourself. When you feel depressed, take advantage of this psalm’s antidepressant: Read the Bible’s accounts of God’s goodness, and meditate on them. (NLT)

Psalm 42:1-11 – As the deer pants for streams of water, so I long for you, O God. I thirst for God, the living God. When can I come and stand before him? Day and night, I have only tears for food, while my enemies continually taunt me, saying, “Where is this God of yours?”

My heart is breaking as I remember how it used to be: I walked among the crowds of worshipers, leading a great procession to the house of God, singing for joy and giving thanks—it was the sound of a great celebration!

Why am I discouraged? Why so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again—my Savior and my God!

Now I am deeply discouraged, but I will remember your kindness—from Mount Hermon, the source of the Jordan, from the land of Mount Mizar. I hear the tumult of the raging seas as your waves and surging tides sweep over me.

Through each day the Lord pours his unfailing love upon me, and through each night I sing his songs, praying to God who gives me life.

“O God my rock,” I cry, “Why have you forsaken me? Why must I wander in darkness, oppressed by my enemies?” Their taunts pierce me like a fatal wound. They scoff, “Where is this God of yours?”

Why am I discouraged? Why so sad?   I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again—my Savior and my God!

May-God-fill-in-your-needs[1]

 

 

 

 

Francisco de Castro Maria’s (Luanda, Angola) story is titled “LONGING FOR GOD;” here is a portion of Francisco’s story:

“. . . Sometimes we can become too comfortable with daily life. We think everything is fine; but if we do not seek God in new ways, we may miss opportunities to continue to grow in our faith. . . .

“. . . we can leave the comfort zone of our spiritual life and seek to grow in the knowledge and grace of our Lord Jesus, expressing each day our longing for God.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How can I seek God in new ways today?

Prayer: Dear God, remind us to seek you in new places and never grow complacent in our longing for you. Renew us with your living water, through Jesus Christ. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-a-g/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-h-n/ ; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-o-u/; https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/topics-v-z/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

