Forget all that

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Tuesday, November 22, 2016

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

past regret guilt shame hurt anger

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

This section pictures a new exodus for a people once again oppressed, as the Israelites had been as slaves in Egypt before the Exodus. They would cry to God, and again he would hear and deliver them. A new exodus would take place through a new wilderness. The past miracles were noting compared to what God would do for his people in the future. (NLT)

Isaiah 43:16-21 – I am the Lord, who opened a way through the waters, making a dry path through the sea. I called forth the mighty army of Egypt with all its chariots and horses. I drew them beneath the waves, and they drowned, their lives snuffed out like a smoldering candlewick.

“But forget all that—it is nothing compared to what I am going to do. For I am about to do a brand-new thing. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness for my people to come home. I will create rivers for them in the desert! The wild animals in the fields will thank me, the jackals and ostriches, too, for giving them water in the wilderness. Yes, I will make springs in the desert, so that my chosen people can be refreshed. I have made Israel for myself, and they will someday honor me before the whole world.

Paul wrote, “One thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the price for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” –Philippians 3:13-14 (NIV)

Eddie Fleming’s (Kentucky) story is titled “LETTING GO;” here is Eddie’s story:

“As I pulled up my one-beautiful periwinkles, now lifeless after a recent freeze, it dawned on me that I wasn’t just getting rid of the old plants; I was making room for new ones. The same is true of life’s experiences. We have to let go of the past to make room for the future. But letting go of treasured moments or painful experiences is not as easy as discarding wilted, lifeless periwinkles.

“The apostle Peter wanted to remain in a powerful moment while high atop the Mount of Transfiguration. (See [below] Matt. 17:1-4.) Peter was like many of us; he didn’t want to let go of an awesome experience. Such moments – life’s great blessings – are not meant to be permanent homes but rather rest stops along life’s journey. We do it by focusing on God, whose grace and blessings are new every day. (See [below] Lam. 3:22-23.) And we can find and enjoy them fully when we let go of the past and trust the God of our present and our future.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Letting go of the past enables me to embrace God’s possibilities.

Prayer: Dear God, give us the courage to let go of the past and the faith we need to look forward to the future with you. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE SEEKING A NEW START

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

Matthew 17:1-4 – Six days later Jesus took Peter and the two brothers, James and John, and let them up a high mountain. As the men watched, Jesus’ appearance changes so that his face shone like the sun, and his clothing became dazzling white. Suddenly, Moses and Elijah appeared and began talking with Jesus. Peter blurted out, “Lord, this is wonderful! If you want me to, I’ll make three shrines, one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah.”

* – Jeremiah saw one ray of hope in all the sin and sorrow surrounding him: “The unfailing love of the Lord never ends. . . . Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each day.” God willingly responds with help when we ask. Perhaps there is some sin in your life that you thought God would not forgive. God’s steadfast love and mercy are greater than any sin, and he promises forgiveness. (NLT)

Lamentations 3:22-23 – The unfailing love of the Lord never ends! By his mercies we have been kept from complete destruction. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each day.

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

