Good planning and work lead to prosperity

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Friday, December 2, 2016

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

To-do-what-is-right-and-just[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Faithful completion of one’s work is a great accomplishment. Being a diligent worker does not come naturally to some people; it is a result of strong character. Don’t look for shortcuts that result in inefficiency. Work hard as if in the serve of God. (NLT)

Proverbs 21:1-21 – The king’s heart is like a stream of water directed by the Lord; he turns it wherever he pleases. People may think they are doing what is right, but the Lord examines the heart. The Lord is more pleased when we do what is just and right than when we give him sacrifices.

Haughty eyes, a proud heart, and evil actions are all sin.

Good planning and hard work lead to prosperity, but hasty shortcuts lead to poverty. Wealth created by lying is a vanishing mist and a deadly trap.

Because the wicked refuse to do what is just, their violence boomerangs and destroys them.

The guilty walk a crooked path; the innocent travel a straight road.

It is better to live alone in the corner of an attic than with a contentious wife in a lovely home.

Evil people love to harm others; their neighbors get no mercy from them.

A simpleton can learn only by seeing mockers punished; a wise person learns from instruction.

The Righteous One knows what is going on in the homes of the wicked; he will bring the wicked to disaster.

Those who shut their ears to the cries of the poor will be ignored in their own time of need.

A secret gift calms anger; a secret bribe pacifies fury.

Justice is a joy to the godly, but it causes dismay among evildoers.

The person who strays from common sense will end up in the company of the dead.

Those who love pleasure become poor; wine and luxury are not the way to riches.

Sometimes the wicked are punished to save the godly, and the treacherous for the upright.

It is better to live alone in the desert than with a crabby, complaining wife.

The wise have wealth and luxury, but fools spend whatever they get.

Whoever pursues godliness and unfailing love will find life, godliness, and honor.

Whoever pursues righteousness and kindness will find life and honor. –Proverbs 21:21 (NRSV)

Margie Harding (Maryland) titled her story “DOING WHAT IS RIGHT;” here is Margie’s story:

“Recently, I was struggling with feelings of uncertainty and a lack of direction; in general I wasn’t sure how I felt. My uncertainties were frustrating and affected nearly everything I did. I felt detached from my home life. My work was affected because I felt removed from it as well. Focusing on my work was difficult. I kept asking myself, Why? Why am I doing this? Who cares whether I accomplish my goals? I finally took my problem to the Lord. Instead of asking myself questions, I asked God.

As I prayed and listened for God, Proverbs 21:21 came to mind. What a balm to my spirit! God knows my direction and goals and cares about me no matter what. My job, according to the scripture, is to pursue righteousness. I can make it my duty to live with love and mercy and to do what is right. Life won’t always be easy; but if we work to ‘pursue righteousness and kindness,’ then we ‘will find life and honor.’”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God cares about me no matter what.

Prayer: Dear Lord, sometimes we get confused and we’re not sure what to do. Guide our steps toward the path of righteousness so that we can live abundantly. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE SEARCHING FOR DIRECTION

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

