He does not leave us alone with our challenges

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Tuesday, December 6, 2016

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

challenges

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

God promises to give us strength to meet challenges, but he doesn’t promise to eliminate them. If he gave us no rough roads to walk, no mountains to climb, and no battles to fight, we would not grow. He does not leave us alone with our challenges, however. Instead, he stands beside us, teaches us, and strengthens us to face them. (NLT)

Psalm 18:31-36 – For who is God except the Lord? Who but our God is a solid rock?

God arms me with strength; he has made my way safe. He makes me as surefooted as a deer, leading me safely along the mountain heights. He prepares me for battle; he strengthens me to draw a bow of bronze. You have given me the shield of your salvation. Your right hand supports me; your gentleness has made me great. You have made a wide path for my feet to keep them from slipping.

The peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. –Philippians 4:7 (KJV)

Elizabeth Rosian (Pennsylvania) titled her story “PEACE THAT PASSES UNDERSTANDING;” here is a portion of Elizabeth’s story:

“My friend Helen was expressing her concern for her son, who lived in a home for people with disabilities. . . . I offered what seemed like a helpful response. ‘You’ve done all you can for David. Give your worries to the Lord. Let God take the burden from you.’ Helen seemed encouraged, and I was glad to be of comfort to her.

“The next day, I received a call telling me that my mammogram showed an abnormality. A repeat test offered confirmation, and a biopsy was ordered for a week later. My words to Helen came back to me. Give your worries to the Lord, I said to myself; but fear flooded my mind, and I couldn’t let go. In full panic, I emailed prayer requests to my family and friends. Within hours, I was inundated with assurances of prayer from caring people.

“By evening, an amazing peace came over me. I can’t control the outcome, I thought. What happens is in God’s hands now. If the abnormality is benign, I’ll have wasted precious time worrying. If it’s malignant, with the Lord’s help, I’ll get through it. The Bible promises God’s peace. Our job is to trust the Lord.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you” (John 14:27).

Prayer: Dear Lord, we find comfort in knowing that when life is difficult, you take away our worries and give us peace. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

