Seek His advice before you step out

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, December 8, 2016

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Be-the-way-you-can-be[1]

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

The person in whom God delights is one who follows God, trusts him, and tries to do his will. God watches over and makes firm every step that person takes. If you would like to have God direct your way, then seek his advice before you step out. (NLT)

Psalm 37:23 – 24 – The steps of the godly are directed by the Lord. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will not fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand.

* Christ is showing us the heart of God the Father. God is not selfish, begrudging, or stingy, and we don’t have to beg or grovel as we come with our requests. He is a loving Father, who understands, cares, and comforts. If humans can be kind, imagine how kind God, the Creator of kindness, can be. (NLT)

Matthew 7:7 – 12 – [Jesus said] “Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is opened to everyone who knocks. You parents—if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! If you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.

“Do for others what you would like them to do for you. This is a summary of all that is taught in the law and to prophets. . . .”

A person’s steps are directed by the Lord. How then can anyone understand their own way? –Proverbs 20:24 (NIV)

Michael Eaton (Texas) titled his story “GOD’S DIRECTION;” here is Michael’s story:

“As my college graduation approaches, I have a million thoughts running through my mind: Where will I work? Where will I live? How will I pay my bills? My five-and-a=half-year journey through college has taught me that life is uncertain and that God provides.

“After my first year of college, I had to take a year off to make money so I could return. I had no work experience, but God provided. I got a fantastic job at a local hospital that paid well and allowed me to work nearly 70 hours a week. It wasn’t long before I made enough money to return to college, and my boss let me continue to work during my breaks from school. That job was God’s provision to allow me to finish paying for college.

“Today’s verse reminds me that I don’t need to have all the answers right now. I can trust that God will lead me to opportunities. God has always been faithful to me and my family, and we believe in the promise of today’s scripture reading that God cares deeply for each of us and our needs. God loves us and will provide a way for us.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How has God led me to where I am today?

Prayer: Dear God, help us to trust in you and to follow where you lead. Amen.

Prayer Focus: STUDENTS STRUGGLING TO PAY FOR SCHOOL

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

