Whatever we need on earth He will always supply

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, December 15, 2016

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

God-gives-you-people-you-need[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

We can trust that God will always meet our needs.   Whatever we need on earth He will always supply, even if it is the courage to face death as Paul did. Whatever we need in heaven He will supply. We must remember, however, the difference between our wants and our needs. Most people want to feel good and avoid discomfort or pain. We may not get all that we want. By trusting in Christ, our attitudes and appetites can change from wanting everything to accepting his provision and power to live for Him. (NLT)

Philippians 4:10-20 – How grateful I am, and how I praise the Lord that you are concerned about me again. I know you have always been concerned for me, but for a while you didn’t have the chance to help me. Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to get along happily whether I have much or little. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need. But even so, you have done well to share with me in my present difficulty.

As you know, you Philippians were the only ones who gave me financial help when I brought you the Good News and then traveled on from Macedonia. No other church did this. Even when I was in Thessalonica you sent help more than once. I don’t say this because I want a gift from you. What I want is for you to receive a well-earned reward because of your kindness.

At the moment I have all I need—more than I need! I am generously supplied with the gifts you sent me with Epaphroditus. They are a sweet-smelling sacrifice that is acceptable to God and pleases him. And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus. Now glory be to God our Father forever and ever. Amen.

God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. –Philippians 4:19 (NIV)

Ruby Truax (Ontario, Canada) titled her story “REACHING OUT;” here is Ruby’s story:

“After knee surgery, I had a difficult recovery. I live alone and quickly found that I simply could not manage on my own. I do not like to ask for help and worried that I would be imposing on others.

“When I finally reached out for help, I was overwhelmed by the outpouring of support from my church, neighbors, and co-workers. All my worries were calmed. I felt only love.

“I have never hesitated to ask God for help, and I know that often God sends people to help us. Scripture assures us that God will always meet our needs, and I have found this to be true. So why was it so hard for me to ask my friends directly when I needed them?

“Scripture encourages us to be God’s hands and feet on earth in caring for one another. But this experience taught me that a caring relationship is a two-way street. Just as we are often so willing to help, we can also be open to receive from those willing to help us.

“I’m fully recovered. But I have learned that when we struggle to make it on our own, God guides the people in our lives to help us. All we have to do is ask.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How can I accept God’s help?

Prayer: Thank you, heavenly Father, for always providing for our needs. Help us to realize that we can turn to the people close to us whom you have sent. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WHO FIND IT HARD TO ASK FOR HELP

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

