When you feel broken, bruised, burned out

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, December 28, 2016

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Prayer to help those hurting

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

The chosen servant reveals a character of gentleness, encouragement, justice, and truth. When you feel broken, bruised, burned out in your spiritual life, God won’t step on you or toss you aside as useless but will gently pick you up. God’s loving attributes are desperately needed in the world today. Through God’s Spirit, we can show such sensitivity to people around us, reflecting God’s goodness and honesty to them. (NLT)

Isaiah 42:1-9 – “Look at my servant, whom I strengthen. He is my chosen one, and I am pleased with him. I have put my Spirit upon him. He will reveal justice to the nations. He will be gentle—he will not shout or raise his voice in public. He will not crush those who are weak or quench the smallest hope. He will bring full justice to all who have been wronged. He will not stop until truth and righteousness prevail throughout the earth. Even distant lands beyond the sea will wait for his instruction.”

God, the Lord, created the heavens and stretched them out. He created the earth and everything in it. He gives breath and life to everyone in all the world. And it is he who says, “I, the Lord, have called you to demonstrate my righteousness. I will guard and support you, for I have given you to my people as the personal confirmation of my covenant with them. And you will be a light to guide all nations to me. You will open the eyes of the blind and free the captives from prison. You will release those who sit in dark dungeons.

“I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not give my glory to anyone else. I will not share my praise with carved idols. Everything I prophesied has come true, and now I will prophesy again. I will tell you the future before it happens.”

past regret guilt shame hurt anger

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out. In faithfulness he will bring forth justice. –Isaiah 42:3 (NIV)

Jennifer Dudding (New South Wales, Australia) titled her story “THE BRUISED REED;” here is a portion of Jennifer’s story:

“. . . Reeds were functional and beautiful. In contrast, a bruised reed was not beautiful and appeared to be useless.

“Similarly, a bruise on our skin is a visible sign of injury. We can see the bruise, but the damage is deeper. I am bruised because I bear the mark of sexual abuse. But the words from Isaiah quoted above brought me peace and understanding; Jesus is a gentle and compassionate savior. Jesus understands loneliness and physical pain. He has felt the sting of injustice. With empathy and understanding, Jesus bends down to us and tends to the bruised reed. He will not snuff out our faith even when it flickers. He promises also that in time, he will faithfully bring forth justice.

“Jesus noticed me and recognized that I was fragile. Because of Jesus, I may be bruised, but I am not broken.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Jesus is the suffering servant who has experienced our pain.

Prayer: Dear Jesus, thank you for understanding our pain and for healing and transforming us. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SURVIVORS OF ABUSE

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

