No matter what happens, always be thankful

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, January 2, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

thankful for smallest blessings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Our joy, prayers, and thankfulness should not fluctuate with our circumstances or feelings. Obeying these three commands—be joyful, keep on praying, and be thankful—often goes against our natural inclinations. When we make a conscious decision to do what God says, however, we will begin to see people in a new perspective. When we do God’s will, we will find it easier to be joyful and thankful. (NLT)

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 – Always be joyful. Keep on praying. No matter what happens, always be thankful, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” –1 Thessalonians 5:18 (KJV)

Mary Fran Heitzman (Minnesota) titled her story “CLIMBING OUT OF THE PIT;” here is Mary Fran’s story:

“When I was a teenager, my brother and my father died within a few weeks of each other. Though the sun shone brightly that summer, my soul felt dark. Within 29 days, our family had been reduced from seven to five. Two chairs at the dinner table sat empty. Hopelessness trapped me in a deep hole.

“Since I wasn’t familiar with scripture, I stumbled in darkness for years, trying to climb out of my pit of despair. Then one day, I learned that Paul wrote, ‘In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.’ I knew that God wanted me to be at peace; but I wondered, How can I give thanks for tragedy and hopelessness? Then I scrutinized the verse, as if looking through a magnifying glass. A truth suddenly loomed large. Paul’s letter to the Thessalonians does not command me to feel thankful or to be thankful; I must simply ‘give thanks.’ In this, I see a difference between being thankful for a circumstance and being thankful to God for remaining with us in the circumstance.

“God desires that we give thanks as an act of faith and obedience. We can learn to trust that God will walk with us through whatever lies ahead. If we feel ourselves slipping into a pit of sorrow, we can trust that God will hold us up.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God walks with me.

Prayer: Dear God, even in despair, help us to give thanks that you walk with us. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE STRUGGLING WITH DEPRESSION

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

