Where in your spiritual life do you need more persistence

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, January 9, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Do-not-fear-Isaiah-40[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Jacob continued this wrestling match all night just to be blessed. He was persistent. God encourages persistence in all areas of our lives, including the spiritual. Where in your spiritual life do you need more persistence? Strong character develops as you struggle through tough conditions. (NLT)

Genesis 32:22-32 –But during the night Jacob got up and sent his two wives, to concubines, and eleven sons across the Jabbok River. After they were on the other side, he sent over all his possessions. This left Jacob all alone in the camp, and a man came and wrestled with him until dawn. When the man saw that he couldn’t win the match, he struck Jacob’s hip and knocked it out of joint at the socket. Then the man said, “Let me go, for it is dawn.”

But Jacob panted, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.”

What is your name?” the man asked.

He replied, “Jacob.”

“Your name will no longer be Jacob,” the man told him. “It is now Israel, because you have struggled with both God and men and have won.”

“What is your name?” Jacob asked him.

“Why do you ask?” the man replied. Then he blessed Jacob there.

Jacob named the place Peniel—“face of God”—for he said, “I have seen God face to face, y et my life has been spared.” The sun rose as he left Peniel, and he was limping because of his hip. That is why even today the people of Israel don’t eat meat from near the hip, in memory of what happened that night.

“Your name will no longer be Jacob, but Israel, because you have struggled with God and with humans and have overcome.” –Genesis 32:28 (NIV)

Thomas Dury (Colorado) titled his story “WRESTLING WITH DOUBT;” here is a portion of Thomas’ story:

“Sitting alone on a park bench, I fought back tears of frustration. I was certain that my life was dedicated to God, and I tried faithfully to follow God’s leading. I had spent the past several years preparing for the career I believed God was calling me to, yet I couldn’t even secure an interview. Had I so completely misunderstood God’s direction, or had God simply given up on me? I wrestled with what my situation implied about my relationship with God.

“. . . After my night of wrestling with God, my situation had not changed either. But I, too, had been changed, reassured that God wasn’t offended by my doubts and would continue to love me unconditionally.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Sometimes our failures provide the greatest opportunities to grow in faith.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for listening to our doubts and fears and for reassuring us of your unconditional love. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

