Give our burdens to Him

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, January 21, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

God-will-handle-your-problems[1]

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

God wants us to give our burdens to Him, but often we continue to bear them ourselves even when we say we are trusting in Him. Trust the same strength that sustains you to carry your cares also. (NLT)

Psalm 55:22 – Give your burdens to the Lord, and he will take care of you. He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.

* Even those who are especially close to God, as David was have moments when they want to escape from their problems and pressures. (NLT)

Psalm 55:4-8 – My heart is in anguish. The terror of death overpowers me. Fear and trembling overwhelm me. I can’t stop shaking. Oh, how I wish I had wings like a dove; then I would fly away and rest! I would fly far away to the quiet of the wilderness. How quickly I would escape—far away from this wild storm of hatred.

Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken. –Psalm 55:22 (NIV)

Larry Wayne (Tennessee) titled his story “STORMS OF LIFE;” here is a portion of Larry’s story:

“The day was stormy. Lightning flashed all around. The wind howled, the rain fell, and tornadoes threatened. At the radio station in Athens, Georgia, where I worked during college, the owner of the station concluded his morning newscast as usual with, ‘It’s a lovely day to be in Athens.’ Afterward, I met him in the hallway and kidded him about the current state of the weather. I asked, ‘How can today be a lovely day to be in Athens?’ He put his arm around my shoulder and said, ‘Son, during World War II, I was a bomber pilot. Early in the war, my plane was shot down; and I spent the rest of my time in a prisoner-of-war camp. After that ordeal, I promised that if I made it home, I would not let anything ruin my day. Every day I’m here is a lovely day to be in Athens.’

“I have thought about his words often over the years. I realized that as we face the storms in our lives, we tend to lose sight of the comfort we know simply by living in God’s love. Too often we forget about the blessings, mercy, grace, and love of God; and we focus on whatever storm is at hand. We forget to put our trust in the Lord. Today when facing the storms of life, I remember the words of the station owner, and I am thankful that God is present to calm the raging storms of my life.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Storms come and go, but God’s love is unchanging.

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank you for looking after us and loving us during the storms of life. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

