Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, January 30, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Educate childrens hearts

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Storing treasures in heaven is not limited to tithing but is accomplished by all acts of obedience to God. There is a sense in which giving our money to God’s work is like investing in heaven. But we should seek to please God not only in our giving but also im fulfilling God’s purposes in all we do. (NLT)

Matthew 6:19-21 – [Jesus said] “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where they can be eaten by moths and get rusty, and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven, where they will never become moth-eaten or rusty and where they will be safe from thieves. Wherever your treasure is, there your heart and thoughts will also be.”

Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. –Matthew 6:21 (NRSV)

Frieda Yang (California) titled her story “TREASURE IN THE HEART;” here is a portion of Frieda’s story:

“My daughter wanted to redecorate her room, which was cluttered with souvenirs and childhood toys. As I helped her get rid of the stuff and decorate with color-coordinated curtains and bedding, my spirit was lifted by such a clean and orderly room! Her desk mow had room for flowers and a Bible, and I hoped that her eyes would be drawn to beauty and her heart drawn to God. A sense of well-being came over me.

“Inspired, I tried to clean the rest of our home myself. I discovered that while it was easy for me to get rid of my daughter’s clutter, it was much harder to get rid of mine! But my collection fo what I thought were keepsakes not only occupied physical space but burdened my mind and weighed on my spirit. Similarly, social media and other activities can occupy my mind, leaving little room for me to store up spiritual things.

“When we make room in our days for scripture reading and prayer, then our spirits can be strengthened with treasure from the Bible. God’s wisdom and guidance will help us in our relationships and in our service to God and God’s people.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – When I clean out the clutter I make room for the Holy Spirit.

Prayer: Dear God, help us rid our lives of those things that draw us away from you. May we be filled with your word and the promptings of your Holy Spirit. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

