At just the right time, I will respond to you

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, February 2, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Troubled water enemies

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Isaiah 49:8-16 – This is what the Lord says: “At just the right time, I will respond to you. On the day of salvation, I will help you. I will give you as a token and pledge to Israel. This will prove that I will reestablish the land of Israel and reassign it to its own people again. Through you I am saying to the prisoners of darkness, ‘Come out! I am giving you your freedom!” They will be my sheep, grazing in green pastures and on hills that were previously bare. They will neither hunger nor thirst. The searing sun and scorching desert winds will not reach them anymore. For the Lord in his mercy will lead them beside cool waters. And I will make my mountains into level paths for them. The highways will be raised above the valleys. See, my people will return from far away, from lands to the north and west, and from as far south as Egypt.”

Sing for joy, O heavens! Rejoice, O earth! Burst into song, O mountains! For the Lord has comforted his people and will have compassion on them in their sorrow.

Yet Jerusalem says, “The Lord has deserted us; the Lord has forgotten us.”

“Never! Can a mother forget her nursing child? Can she feel no love for a child she has borne? But even if that were possible, I would not forget you! See, I have written your name on my hand. Ever before me is a picture of Jerusalem’s walls in ruins.”

With a strong hand and outstretched arm – God’s faithful love lasts forever! –Psalm 136:12 (CEB)

Patricia M. Daniels (Florida) titled her story “IN GOD’S HANDS;” here is a portion of Patricia’s story:

“Several years ago, my thirteen-year-old daughter needed back surgery to straighten her spine. The diagnosis terrified us. The curve in her back was extensive, and the surgery would be long.

“During the surgery, my husband and I prayed with family and friends. About four hours into it, a friend came by the waiting room and handed us a small statue of two hands holding a praying angel. The statue was engraved, ‘God is hold you in the palms of his hands.’ I was immediately comforted. The image of God holding our daughter and us during the surgery was a powerful reminder that we are never alone in our fears and struggles. Our daughter made it through the surgery and is fine today. My little statue holds a prominent place in my living room and has remained for me an image of God’s comfort.

“I have returned many times to the image of being held in the hands of God. . . . We also have struggles and pain as we journey through life. But God is not only with us; God holds us.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God tenderly holds me every day.

Prayer: Holy God, remind us that you are always holding us in the palms of your hands. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

