He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, February 9, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Dear-God-I-trust-you[1]

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Prayer when surrounded by trouble or wickedness; God is our only real source of safety. Prayer is our best help when trials come our way because it keeps us in communion with God. (NLT)

Psalm 28:6-9 – Praise the Lord! For he has heard my cry for mercy. The Lord is my strength, my shield from every danger. I trust in him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.

The Lord protects his people and gives victory to his anointed king. Save your people! Bless Israel, your special possession! Lead them like a shepherd, and carry them forever in your arms.

The psalmist wrote, “The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me.” –Psalm 28:7 (NIV)

Dorothy O’Neill (South Australia, Australia) titled her story “LEANING ON GOD;” here is a portion of Dorothy’s story:

“The letter from my friend overseas was painful to read. Her husband had deserted her. They had been married a long time and had teenage children. . . .

“I asked God to give me the words to write back to her. So I wrote what came to mind and sent the letter. . . .

“My friend wrote back and told me she had been standing in her kitchen crying the day my letter arrived. . . . As she washed the breakfast dishes she sensed an inner voice gently saying, ‘Just lean back on me. I will support you. I am your strength.’

“When she found my letter in her mailbox, she opened it and was amazed to read the words I had offered her: ‘God is with you. Just lean back on him. He will support you. He is your strength.’ Truly God had given me the words to comfort and encourage my grieving friend.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Whatever the day may bring, I am in God’s loving care.

Prayer: Dear Lord, we thank you for being our constant companion and strength. Help us to bring all our anxiety to you so that we may find your peace. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

