He listens to our prayers and answers when we call on Him

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, February 11, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Prayer to help those hurting

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

The godly are those who are faithful and devoted to God. David knew that God would hear him when he called and would answer him. He listens to our prayers and answers when we call on Him. Sometimes we think that God will not hear us because we have fallen short of his high standards for holy living. But if we have trusted Christ for salvation, God has forgiven us, and he will listen to us. When you feel as though your prayers are bouncing off the ceiling, remember that as a believer you have been set apart by God and that he loves you. He hears and answers, although his answers may not be what you expect. Look at your problems in the light of God’s power instead of looking at God in the shadow of your problems. (NLT)

Psalm 4:3-8 – You can be sure of this: The Lord has set apart the godly for himself. The Lord will answer when I call to him.

Don’t sin by letting anger gain control over you. Think about it overnight and remain silent. Offer proper sacrifices, and trust in the Lord.

Many people say, “Who will show us better times?” Let the smile of your face shine on us, Lord. You have given me greater joy than those who have abundant harvests of grain and wine.

I will lie down in peace and sleep, for you alone, O Lord, will keep me safe.

When you are disturbed . . . ponder it on our beds and be silent. . . . I will both lie down and sleep in peace; for you alone, O Lord, make me lie down in safety. –Psalm 4:4, 8 (NRSV)

Madalena Manuel Simão’s (Luanda, Angola) story is titled “SLEEPING IN PEACE;” here is a portion of Madalena’s story:

“Many years ago I took my children to study in South Africa because my country was consumed by war. I found them a place to stay and found a pastor who would give them spiritual support. A few years later, when I went back to visit my children, I found that my younger daughter could not get a visa to remain in South Africa. . . .

“When I came home later that night, tired and exhausted, I lay down in bed and prayed: ‘Lord, help me not to be discouraged. Please show me the way to solve this situation with my daughter.’ Later, in my sleep I heard a voice calling my name, but when I got up I did not see anybody. I went back to sleep and had a dream in which someone told me to read the verses quoted above. Then I understood that God wanted me to be silent and to listen.

“The next day after a short interview with an immigration officer, my daughter received a visa so that she could finish her studies. This experience strengthened my belief in prayer. If we pray with faith, we can rely on God and expect an answer according to God’s will.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – When I trust in God, I will not be discouraged.

Prayer: Gracious and merciful God, help us not to be discouraged. Help us to hear and follow your call. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

