Grow and experience the joy of your faith

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, February 18, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Faith[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

This was not Paul’s final imprisonment in Rome. But he didn’t know that. Awaiting trial, he knew he could either be released or executed. However, he trusted Christ to work it out for his deliverance. Paul’s prayer was that when he stood trial, he would speak courageously for Christ and not be timid or ashamed. Whether he lived or died, he wanted to exalt Christ. As it turned out, he was released from this imprisonment but arrested again two or three years later. Only faith in Christ could sustain Paul in such adversity. (NLT)

Philippians 1:18-30 – But whether or not their motives are pure, the fact remains that the message about Christ is being preached, so I rejoice. And I will continue to rejoice. For I know that as you pray for me and as the Spirit of Jesus Christ helps me, this will all turn out for my deliverance.

For I live in eager expectation and hope that I will never do anything that causes me shame, but that I will always be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past, and that my life will always honor Christ, whether I live or I die. For to me, living is for Christ, and dying is even better. Yet if I live, that means fruitful service for Christ. I really don’t know which is better. I’m torn between two desires: Sometimes I want to live, and sometimes I long to go and be with Christ. That would be far better for me, but it is better for you that I live.

I am convinced of this, so I will continue with you so that you will grow and experience the joy of your faith. Then when I return to you, you will have even more reason to boast about what Christ Jesus has done for me.

Buy whatever happens to me, you must live in a manner worthy of the Good News about Christ, as citizens of heaven. Then, whether I come and see you again or only hear about you, I will know that you are standing side by side, fighting together for the Good News. Don’t be intimidated by your enemies. This will be a sign to them that they are going to be destroyed, but that you are going to be saved, even by God himself. For you have been given not only the privilege of trusting in Christ but also the privilege of suffering for him. We are in this fight together. You have seen me suffer for him in the past, and you know that I am still in the midst of this great struggle.

Paul wrote, “To me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain. –Philippians 1:21 (NIV)

John Bown (Minnesota) titled his story “BLESSED ASSURANCE;” here is a portion of John’s story:

“My good friend Glenn had been diagnosed with leukemia and hospitalized for chemotherapy treatments. . . .

“. . . Although his future was uncertain, he was at peace. As he told me on that first visit, ‘If my time is up, it’s ok. I know where I am going.’ Glenn’s response was a great example of what faith can do.

“In today’s scripture reading, the apostle Paul summed up this faith. Although he was imprisoned and uncertain whether he would live or die, Paul was a peace because he trusted God. With Christ as our Savior, we do not face challenges alone. We can take heart in Paul’s words that whatever our circumstance, we can find peace and assurance from knowing that our Lord and Savior is with us today and throughout eternity.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God says, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you” (Heb. 13:5).

Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for the comfort and peace you provide in times of trouble. Help us to share the good news of your love and grace with others. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE UNDERGOING CHEMOTHERAPY

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

