Give Him first place in your life

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, February 25, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Put-God-first[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

What is the purpose of life? It is that we should fear the all-powerful God. To fear God means to respect and stand in awe of him because of who he is. It is impossible to fulfill your God-given purpose unless you revere God and give Him first place in your life. (NLT)

Ecclesiastes 3:9-15 – What do people really get for all their hard work? I have thought about this in connection with the various kinds of work God has given people to do. God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end. So I concluded that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to enjoy themselves as long as they can. And people should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God.

And I know that whatever God does is final. Nothing can be added to it or taken from it. God’s purpose in this is that p0eople should fear him. Whatever exists today and whatever will exist in the future has already existed in the past. For God calls each even back in its turn.

The psalmist wrote, “Help me understand what your percepts are about so I can contemplate your wondrous works! –Psalm 119:27 (CEB)

Megan L. Anderson (Indiana) titled her story “STILL HERE?” Here is a portion of Megan’s story:

“As a child, I would pore over maps, all the while fantasizing about packing a suitcase and exploring the world. . . .

“Had God himself told me that years later I’d still be in Indiana, ministering to teenagers no less, I probably would not have believed it. But here I am, and I’m discovering that the wonders of the world that I had once sought are displayed in the gradually shifting culture just beyond my front door.

“I’m not where I intended to be or doing the things I once dreamed I’d do. . . . But I can say with confidence that God’s extraordinary presence is not banned from ordinary places. . . . It just requires following God’s purpose for our gifts and abilities wherever God may lead. I might not be where I expected to be, but God is doing great things where I am and letting me be a part of it. That an adventure I’m excited to stick around for.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How has God changed and exceeded my plans?

Prayer: Dear God, help us see the beautiful things you are doing around us wherever we are. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WHO FEEL DISCONTENT

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

