The secret was, is, drawing on Christ’s power for strength

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, March 22, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Are you able to get along happily (be content) in any circumstances you face? Paul knew how to be content whether he had plenty or whether he was in need. The secret was, is, drawing on Christ’s power for strength. Do you have great needs, or are you discontented because you don’t have what you want? Learn to rely on God’s promises and Christ’s power to help you be content. Often the desire for more or better possessions is really a longing to fill an empty place in a person’s life. To what are you drawn when you fell empty inside? How can you find true contentment? The answer lies in your perspective, your priorities, and your source of power.

Can we really do everything? The power we receive in union with Christ is sufficient to do his will and to face the challenges that arise from our commitment to doing it. He does not grant us superhuman ability to accomplish anything we can imagine without regard to his interests. As we contend for the faith, we will face troubles, pressures, and trials. As they come, ask Christ to strengthen you. (NLT)

Philippians 4:10-13 – How grateful I am, and how I praise the Lord that you are concerned about me again. I know you have always been concerned for me, but for a while you didn’t have the chance to help me. Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to get along happily whether I have much or little. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. –Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

Judy Ann Eichstedt (Oklahoma) titled her story “STRENGTH IN CHRIST;” here is Judy’s story:

“For many months, my six children and I were homeless and living in our rundown car. We got most of our food out of dumpsters and washed up in gas station bathrooms. Each day we fought to survive. Family and friends turned away from us as if we had committed a crime. Most people who saw us living in the car pretended they had not seen us. I felt invisible. Everything we owned had been sold in a garage sale as I tried to avoid being homeless. All that was left were some clothes, blankets, some dishes, and my Bible. At night, while the children slept, I cried, not knowing what to do. I prayed, telling God that I was ready to give up. One night I opened my Bible seeking strength and found the verse quoted above. I stared at the words, then read them over and over again, seeing the meaning and the power behind them. This verse assured me that no matter what hardships we face, no matter what obstacles life throws at us, God, through Christ, has given us the strength to overcome them.

“From time to time, we all face events that knock us down. They seem too powerful for us to conquer until we remember that we are in God’s hands at all times. With the help of God and some loving people God sent to us, my family escaped having to live in the car. I know now that we face nothing alone because through Christ, we fight no battle without God’s help.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God will strengthen me and lift me up.

Prayer: Thank you, God, for giving us the strength to overcome the challenges of our lives. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WHO ARE HOMELESS

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

