Acts of mercy we all can do every day

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Friday, March 24, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

This parable describes acts of mercy we all can do every day. These acts do not depend on wealth, ability, or intelligence; they are simple acts freely given and freely received. We have no excuse to neglect those who have deep needs, and we cannot hand over this responsibility to the church or government. Jesus demands our personal involvement in caring for others’ needs. (NLT)

Matthew 25:35-40 – [Jesus said] “For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

“Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing? When did we ever see you sick or in prison, and visit you?’ And the King will tell them, ‘I assure you, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’”

Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, anyone who gives you a cup of water in my name because you belong to the Messiah will certainly not lose their reward.” –Mark 9:41 (NIV)

Hannah Kallio (Minnesota) titled her story “A CUP OF TEA;” here is a portion of Hannah’s story:

“. . . Spring was turning to summer in Italy, and the smell of the sea drifted from the port and wound through the narrow streets. Difficult circumstances in my life as an exchange student were overwhelming me.

“That day, after months of hanging in there, I fell apart. As I walked home, my eyes were so full of tears I could barely see, so I sat down on a stoop. I’m not sure how long I sat there before I heard a voice. I looked up, startled, to see a woman calling to me from her window across the street. . . . A few moments later she arrived with a cup, saucer, tea bag, spoon, and kettle. . . .

“Years later, I don’t remember specifically why I was crying that afternoon, but I remember that cup of tea and the woman’s kindness to me. This woman’s hospitality was like that of the people in today’s reading who unknowingly served the Lord by serving others. How often do we take time to show hospitality to strangers? Surely nothing could be more important.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – When I show kindness to others, I show kindness to Christ.

Prayer: Loving God, show us how we can extend your kindness to someone who needs it today, and help us to recognize you in those who are in pain. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

