Opportunities to demonstrate His power

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Monday, March 27, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Our troubles should not diminish our faith or disillusion us. We should realize that there is a purpose in our suffering. Problems and human limitations have several benefits: (1) They remind us of Christ’s suffering for us; (2) they keep us from pride; (3) they cause us to look beyond this brief life; (4) they give us opportunities to prove our faith to others; and (5) they give God the opportunity to demonstrate His power. See your troubles as opportunities! (NLT)

2 Corinthians 4:17-18 – For our present troubles are quite small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us an immeasurably great glory that will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see right now; rather, we look forward to what we have not yet seen. For the troubles we see will soon be over, but the joys to come will last forever.

Do not fear, for I am with you, do not be afraid, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my victorious right hand. –Isaiah 41:10 (NRSV)

Sahana Mathias (Karnataka, India) titled her story “TUNNELS;” here is a portion of Sahana’s story:

“A few years ago our family was returning from a road trip to Mumbai. I was driving . . . Suddenly, we were in a tunnel.

“Closed spaces make me nervous and dizzy, as though I am going to be swallowed by the darkness. So fear gripped me the moment I realized I was driving through a tunnel. I was so nervous that I could not breathe. I wanted to stop the car and allow my husband to drive, but it was too dangerous to stop the car inside the tunnel.

“Seeing my worry, my husband and kids were quick to point out the speck of light that indicated that the tunnel was going to end soon. I started focusing on the light, and I began to feel better. Before I knew it, I was out of the tunnel and felt like I could breathe freely again.

“Sometimes in life we find ourselves in dark, tunnel-like situations that leave us terrified and exhausted. When we hold strong to our faith, God can guide us out of our troubles by giving us a speck of light to focus on. Ultimately, these experiences make us stronger emotionally and spiritually.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God is with me in my struggles today.

Prayer: Guide of humanity, thank you for being our guiding spirit. Help us to remember that our strength lies in you. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE STRUGGLING WITH ANXIETY

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

