He will make your paths straight

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, March 30, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Jesus’ audience was well aware of what it meant to carry one’s own cross. When the Romans led a criminal to his execution site, he was forced to carry the cross on which he would die. This showed his submission to Rome and warned observers that they had better submit, too. Jesus spoke this teaching to get the crowds to think through their enthusiasm for him. He encouraged those who were superficial either to go deeper or to turn back. (NLT)

Luke 14:25-27 – Great crowds were following Jesus. He turned around and said to them, “If you want to be my follower you must love me more than your own father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters—yes, more than your own life. Otherwise, you cannot be my disciple. And you cannot be my disciple if you do not carry your own cross and follow me.”

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. –Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

Carole J. Murphy (Georgia) titled her story “GOD IS TRUSTWORTHY;” here is a portion of Carole’s story:

“I thought I was settled for life. Bob and I had graduated from high school and college, married, and were living in our hometown. Then, God called my husband to full-time ministry. Pulled up by my roots, I realized that the journey ahead would not be easy. In the past, trust, obedience, and risk had been only words to me. I had wanted to love and serve God, yet also remain in control of my life. . . .

“Through earnest prayer and study of the scriptures, I began a soul-searching journey, discovering how to trust and obey God’s will for my life. Trust is a process of giving ourselves to God, believing that God is trustworthy. It leads to the realization that every step we take is guided by the One who already knows our path and who will lead us to our identity as children of God.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Putting my trust in God takes practice.

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank you for people who are willing to give up everything to serve you. Help us to trust you and to be obedient to your call on our lives. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

