To empower us to deal with our problems and concerns

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, April 6, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

The throne, the attending seraphim or angels, and the threefold holy all stressed God’s holiness. Seraphim were a type of angel whose name is derived from the word for “burn,” perhaps indicating their purity as God’s ministers. In a time when moral and spiritual decay had peaked, it was important for Isaiah to see God in his holiness. Holiness means “morally perfect, pure, and set apart from all sin.” We also need to discover God’s holiness. Our daily frustrations, society’s pressures, and our shortcomings narrow our view of God. We need the Bible’s view of God as high and lifted up to empower us to deal with our problems and concerns. God’s moral perfection, properly seen, will purify us from sin, cleanse our mind of our problems, and enable us to worship and to serve.

Isaiah submitted himself entirely to God’s service. No matter how difficult his task would be, he said, “Lord, I’ll go! Send me.” The more clearly Isaiah saw God, the more aware Isaiah became of his own powerlessness and inadequacy to do anything of lasting value without God. But he was willing to be God’s spokesman. When God calls, will you also say, “Send me”? (NLT)

Isaiah 6:1-10 – In the year King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord. He was sitting on a lofty throne, and the train of his robe filled the Temple. Hovering around him were mighty seraphim, each with six wings. With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with the remaining two they flew. In a great chorus they sang, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty! The whole earth is filled with his glory!” The glorious singing shook the Temple to its foundations, and the entire sanctuary was filled with smoke.

Then I said, “My destruction is sealed, for I am a sinful man and a member of a sinful race. Yet I have seen the King, the Lord Almighty!”

Ten one of the seraphim flew over to the altar, and he picked up a burning coal with a pair of tongs. He touched my lips with it and said, “See, this coal has touched your lips. Now your guilt is removed, and your sins are forgiven.”

Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to my people? Who will go for us?”

And I said, “Lord, I’ll go! Send me.”

And he said, “Yes, go. But tell my people this: ‘You will hear my words, but you will not understand. You will see what I do, but you will not perceive its meaning.’ Harden the hearts of these people. Close their ears, and shut their eyes. That way, they will not see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts, and turn to me for healing.”

“I’m here; send me.” –Isaiah 6:8 (CEB)

Bryan Brigham (Texas) titled his story “MY WORST DAY;” here is a portion of Bryan’s story:

“On the worst day of my mission work in Africa, I woke up early to drive several hours into the bush. . . . Even though I was late, I waited several hours while the congregation slowly gathered and sang sons under the shade of a large tree. When I eventually spoke to the group, the lesson I had prepared fell apart. The crowd looked bored, and I wondered whether the translation of my message was clear. When I finally got home that night, I cried myself to sleep, thinking, Lord, what am I doing here?

“Several weeks later, I went back to the same village. One of the women on my team was talking with a local man. ‘I am a Christian,’ he said. ‘Wonderful!’ she replied. ‘How long have you been a Christian?’ ‘Three weeks,’ he answered. ‘Really?’ she asked. ‘How did you become a Christian?’ The man shifted his weight against his walking stick, lifted his arm to point at me as I entered the camp, and said, ‘That man came.’

“On what I felt was my worst day, I learned the lesson of Isaiah 6:8. My success or failure as a follower of God has little to do with my abilities and everything to do with my availability. . . .”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Success is being available to share the word of God.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help us to remember that faithfulness is more important than “success” and that our availability is more important than our abilities. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

