To live a truly good life is to stay close to Him

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, April 13, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Many people try to be good, honest people who do what is right. But Jesus says that the only way to live a truly good life is to stay close to Him, like a branch attached to the vine. Apart from Christ our efforts are unfruitful. Are you receiving the nourishment and life offered by Christ, the vine? If not, you are missing a special gift He has for you.

“Fruit” is not limited to soul winnings. Fruit is also mentioned as answered prayer, joy, and love. (NLT)

John 15:4-8 – [Jesus said] “Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful apart from me.

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing. Anyone who parts from me is thrown away like a useless branch and withers. Such branches are gathered into a pile to be burned. But if you stay joined to me and my words remain in you, you may ask any request you like, and it will be granted! My true disciples produce much fruit. This brings great glory to my Father.”

Jesus said, “On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.” –John 14:20 (NIV)

John McCutcheon (Limpopo, South Africa) titled his story “A SECURE GRIP;” here is a portion of John’s story:

“When I was young, my family went walking in the forests of Hogsback, in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. . . . My dad suggested that we should hold hands to keep me from sliding down the slope. Instead of actually holding hands, he held my wrist and had me hold on to his wrist. . . .

“Jesus still reaches out to us today. As our reading for today tells us, if we remain in Jesus, we will have the joy of bearing much fruit for him. . . . His promise is our assurance that he will remain in us. Even if we stumble, Jesus will not let go.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – My obedience to Jesus brings glory to God.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, help us to remain in you throughout this day, walking in love, joy, and obedience. Amen.

Prayer Focus: CHILDREN WITHOUT A LOVING FATHER

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

