When our lives are intertwined with His, He will help us

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Friday, April 14, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

When things are going well, we feel elated. When hardships come, we sink into depression. But true joy transcends the rolling waves of circumstance. Joy comes from a consistent relationship with Jesus Christ. When our lives are intertwined with His, He will help us walk through adversity without sinking into debilitating lows and manage prosperity without moving into deceptive highs. The joy of living with Jesus Christ daily will keep us levelheaded, no matter how high or low our circumstances. (NLT)

John 15:9-17 – [Jesus said] “I have loved you even as the Father has loved me. Remain in my love. When you obey me, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father and remain in his love. I have told you this so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your joy will overflow! I command you to love each other in the same way that I love you. And here is how to measure it—the greatest love is shown when people lay down their lives for their friends. You are my friends if you obey me. I no longer call you servants, because a master doesn’t confide in his servants. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me. You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce fruit that will last, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name. I command you to love each other.”

Jesus replied [to Andrew and Philip], “Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.” –John 12:24 (NIV)

Here is a portion of Shirley McCoy’s (Florida) story:

“Each year when my husband and I planted corn, we marveled as the kernels we planted would grow and become stalks with many ears of corn, each ear with many kernels on it. . . . Jesus taught about this principle after his triumphal entry, in the week before his death, burial, and resurrection.

“Using the illustration quoted above, he prepared his followers to accept that he would have to die and be buried so that they and many others could have new life. Rather than warning his followers to guard their lives, Jesus encouraged them to be willing to lose them. The willingness to lose their lives freed them to abandon their own interests and devote themselves to ministry. Jesus would soon charge them to go into the whole world, teaching and living by his example. Jesus challenges us to do the same.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – What am I willing to lose so that others can have new life in Christ?

Prayer: Thank you, Jesus, for showing your undying love for us by dying for our sins. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

