He has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with His love

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, April 15, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

All three members of the Trinity are involved in salvation. The Father loved us so much that he sent his Son to bridge the gap between us. The Father and the Son send the Holy Spirit to fill our life with love and to enable us to live by his power. With all this loving care, how can we do less than serve him completely! (NLT)

Romans 5:3-5 – We can rejoice, too, wen we run into problems and trials, for we know that they are good for us—they help us learn to endure. And endurance develops strength of character in us, and character strengthens our confident expectation of salvation. And this expectation will not disappoint us. For we know how dearly God loves us, because He has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with His love.

Let each of you look not to your own interests, but to the interests of others. –Philippians 2:4 (NRSV)

Arthur J. Williams (California) titled his story “TO PRAY IS TO CHANGE;” here is a portion of Arthur’s story:

“Last year I was diagnosed with a deadly heart disease. The prognosis was grim, and my sole option was a highly specialized surgery. Fortunately I was selected for a program that allowed me to have the surgery. I was scared, and I didn’t know if I would return home.

“While awaiting surgery, I stayed at a boarding house for patients of the medical center, all awaiting various surgeries and procedures. . . .

“Day by day my prayers became less focused on me and my illness. I began to look to the needs of the other patients and began praying for them. When one of my new friends died, I helped to console his family. Another patient and I encouraged each other as we went through the various preoperative tests and procedures required for our surgery and as we recuperated after our operations.

“I prayed for healing, but over the course of my treatment I learned that to pray is to change. God provided an opportunity for me to witness to others, to reassure them, and to encourage them. When we trust God and turn our focus to others, we can be changed.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How has prayer changed me?

Prayer: Dear Lord, open our eyes and hearts to your will. Help us to trust you enough so that we can focus on others and not just on ourselves. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE UNDERGOING SURGERY

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

