You can pray for others to make a difference in their life

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, April 19, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

A part of the title for today’s post, “You can pray for others to make a difference in their life,” comes from the thought of the day in The Upper Room, see below.

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Jesus’ great desire for his disciples was that they would become one. He wanted them unified as a powerful witness to the reality of God’s love. Are you helping to unify the body of Christ, the church? You can pray for other Christians, avoid gossip, build others up, work together in humility, give your time and money, exalt Christ, and refuse to get sidetracked arguing over divisive matters. (NLT)

John 17:20-26 – [Jesus said] “I am praying not only for these disciples but also for all who will ever believe in me because of their testimony. My prayer for all of them is that they will be one, just as you and I are one, Father—that just as you are in me and I am in you, so they will be in us, and the world will believe you sent me.

“I have given them the glory you gave me, so that they may be one, as we are—I in them and you in me, all being perfected into one. Then the world will know that you sent me and will understand that you love them as much as you love me. Father, I want these whom you’ve given me to be with me, so they can see my glory. You gave me the glory because you loved me even before the world began!

“O righteous Father, the world doesn’t know you, but I do; and these disciples know you sent me. And I have revealed you to them and will keep on revealing you. I will do this so that your love for me may be in them and I in them.”

Jesus spoke to his Father, “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message.” –John 17:20 (NIV)

Sandra Cerezo Barth (Santa Fe, Argentina) titled her story “SOMEONE PRAYED FOR ME;” here is a portion of Sandra’s story:

“. . . I remember a special woman, a servant of God, who prayed for me during a time when I was rebelling against God. I also think about today’s scripture reading, when Jesus prayed for those who would believe in him because they heard the disciples’ message. I feel a sense of joy believing that Christ was praying for me even at that moment.

“At times we may feel restless or concerned for certain people and feel moved to include them in prayer. The Holy Spirit nudges us and guides us as we pray. We do not need to hesitate to name those people before God, for surely they are in need of intercessory prayer. I am where I am today and have become who I am because a special woman never stopped praying for me – and many others.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – My prayers can make a difference in others’ lives.

Prayer: Loving God, thank you for welcoming us with open arms and for the many prayers of intercession offered by those who care about us. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE WHO HAS PRAYED FOR ME

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

