Focus your thoughts on what is true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, worthy

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, April 27, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

What we put into our mind determines what comes out in our words and actions. Focus your thoughts on what is true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, worthy. Do you have problems with impure thoughts and daydreams? Examine what you are putting into your mind through television, books, conversations, movies, and magazines. Replace harmful input with wholesome material.   Above all, read God’s Word and pray. Ask God to help you focus your mind on what is good and pure. It takes practice, but it can be done.

It’s not enough to hear or read the Word of God or even to know it well. We must also put it into practice. How easy it is to listen to a sermon and forget what the preacher said. How easy it is to read the Bible and not think about how to live differently. How easy it is to debate what a passage means and not live out that meaning. Exposure to God’s Word is not enough. It must lead to obedience. (NLT)

Philippians 4:4-9 – Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice! Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. Remember, the Lord is coming soon.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

And now, dear brothers and sisters, let me say one more thing as I close this letter. Fix your thoughts on what is true and honorable and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned from me and heard from me and saw me doing, and the God of peace will be with you.

Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things. –Philippians 4:8 (NIV)

Linawati Santoso’s (East Java, Indonesia) story is titled “WHERE IS MY FOCUS?” Here is a portion of Linawati’s story:

“During a period of time in my life I felt everything was going wrong. I became depressed and felt hopeless. God and God’s love for me seemed far away. I felt empty. When I shared my situation with my friends in faith, one friend gave me some advice. She challenged me to write down every one of God’s blessings I experienced day after day – even the simplest ones. Every night I tried to think of three blessings God had given me that day. . . . I found that God’s blessings were gloriously abundant in my life. I had not recognized their presence because I was focusing only on my problems.

“This experience of counting God’s blessings has helped me to know that I can find joy even during difficult times. We can choose to focus on God and God’s blessings instead of only on our problems.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Instead of my problems, I will focus on God today.

Prayer: Loving God, in the midst of our struggles, help us to keep our focus on you and your eternal love for us. As Jesus taught us, we pray, “Father, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come. Give us each day our daily bread. Forgive us our sins, for we also forgive everyone who sins against us. And lead us not into temptation” (Luke 11:2-4, NIV). Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE FEELING HOPELESS

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

