Earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and wonderful results

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Saturday, April 29, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

The Christian’s most powerful resource is communion with God through prayer. The results are often greater than we thought were possible. Some people see prayer as a last resort to be tried when all else fails. This approach is backward. Prayer should come first. Because God’s power is infinitely greater than ours, it only makes sense to rely on it—especially because God encourages us to do so. (NLT)

James 5:13-16 – Are any among you suffering? They should keep on praying about it.   And those who have reason to be thankful should continually sing praises to the Lord.

Are any among you sick? They should call for the elders of the church and have then pray over them, anointing them with oil in the name of the Lord. And their prayer offered in faith will heal the sick, and the Lord will make them well. And anyone who has committed sins will be forgiven.

Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and wonderful results. Elijah was as human as we are, and yet when he prayed earnestly that no rain would fall, none fell for the next three and a half years! Then he prayed for rain, and down it poured. The grass turned green, and the crops began to grow again.

Jesus said, “Where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.” –Matthew 18:20 (NIV)

Jim McCullough (Ohio) titled his story “PRAYER: A GIFT OF LOVE;” here is a portion of Jim’s story:

“During our weekly Bible study at church, one of the members, Edie, asked if anyone would be interested in coming to the prayer group next week. . . . As I began to think about prayer, I wondered if I could be sincere in praying for others, especially people I don’t know. I do know that when I need God’s help in my life, I stop and pray, knowing God will guide me through any situation. So I thought, If I pray for God’s blessings on my life, why not pray for others too?

“As I asked God for guidance about joining the prayer group, a passage of scripture came to mind: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’ (Matt. 22:39). I realized that prayer fits with this commandment: I can show love for others through praying for them. As I continued to recall scripture verses, I remembered that James 5:16 tells us to pray for each other; and Matthew 18:20 tells us that when we gather together in Jesus’ name, he will be there with us. Through Scripture, God gave me the encouragement I sought to attend our church’s prayer group.

“By praying for others, either alone or with a group, we show them love. Prayer is indeed a way to ‘love your neighbor as yourself.’”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Today I will demonstrate love through prayer.

Prayer: Loving God, as we pray for others, may they know your powerful, loving presence in their lives this day and always. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

