With our sins forgiven and our future secure

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, May 3, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

God is the Creator. The Bible begins with the majestic story of his creation of the universe, and it concludes with his creation of a new heaven and a new earth. This is a tremendous hope and encouragement for the believer. When we are with God, with our sins forgiven and our future secure, we will be like Christ. We will be made perfect like him. (NLT)

Revelation 21:1-7 – Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the old heaven and the old earth had disappeared. And the sea was also gone. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a beautiful bride prepared for her husband.

I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, “Look, the home of God is now among his people! He will live with them, and they will be his people. God himself will be with them. He will remove all of their sorrows, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. For the old world and its evils are gone forever.”

And the one sitting on the throne said, “Look, I am making all things new!” And then he said to me, “Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true.” And he also said, “It is finished! I am the Alpha and the Omega—the Beginning and the End. To all who are thirsty I will give the springs of the water of life without charge! All who are victorious will inherit all these blessings, and I will be their God, and they will be my children.

Your sun shall no more go down, or your moon withdraw itself; for the Lord will be your everlasting light, and your days of mourning shall be ended. –Isaiah 60:20 (NRSV)

Nathaniel T. McMaster (Washington, DC) titled his story “THE WIND AT YOUR BACK;” here is Nathaniel’s story:

“I once told someone about my struggles with a habitual sin. I asked for advice and support. The response was, ‘Well, if you’re a Christian, you shouldn’t have any trouble controlling your demons.’

“I wanted to scream: ‘That’s not helpful; nor is it true!’ We are Christians because we have accepted that we are sinful and need God’s guidance. Later, I asked God to forgive me for this habitual sin. But even though I knew that God had forgiven me, I continued to be overwhelmed by shame and guilt.

“One Sunday, my pastor preached on God’s limitless grace: ‘Sin will always be with us,’ she said, ‘but we need to confess our wrongdoings to the Lord and move on. Forget about it. After all, doesn’t God forget about it?’ Her words lifted my spirits. She was absolutely right. But I still struggle to let go of the past and focus on improving in the future.

“A family member once told me, ‘God is the wind at your back, not the rain in your face.’ God doesn’t hold us back, constantly reminding us of our sin. God guides us forward. We may be the rain in our own faces. If we continue to forgive ourselves and move beyond our past sins, we can accept God’s new covenant and start fresh.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Because God forgives my sins, I can forgive myself.

Prayer: Dear God, forgive us. Help us to accept your forgiveness and leave the burden of sin behind. Amen.

Prayer Focus: TO FORGIVE MYSELF

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

