Your word is a lamp for my feet and a light for my path

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Friday, May 5, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

To walk safety in the woods at night we need a light so we don’t trip over the tree roots or fall into holes. In this life, we walk through a dark forest of evil. But the Bible can be our light to show us the way ahead so we won’t stumble as we walk. It reveals the entangling roots of false values and philosophies. Study the Bible so you will be able to see your way clear enough to stay on the right path. (NLT)

Psalm 119:105-112 – Your word is a lamp for my feet and a light for my path. I’ve promised it once, and I’ll promise again: I will obey your wonderful laws. I have suffered much, O Lord; restore my life again, just as you promised. Lord, accept my grateful thanks and teach me your laws. My life constantly hangs in the balance, but I will not stop obeying your law. The wicked have set their traps for me along your path, but I will not turn from your commandments. Your decrees are my treasure they are truly my heart’s delight. I am determined to keep your principles, even forever, to the very end.

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. –Psalm 119:105 (KJV)

Stephen Brown (British Columbia, Canada) titled his story “STAYING ON THE PATH;” here is a portion of Stephen’s story:

“One summer I spent three months at a wilderness lake with my best friend. . . .

“One evening I went back to the van to read by the glow of its interior lamps. It was already dark when I landed the canoe on the far shore to begin my two-mile trek. Soon I could not see the path. . . .

“. . . I removed my shoes and socks, and I stepped forward cautiously. The feel of packed earth under my soles confirmed that I was on the trail. . . . Hours later, I reached my destination without incident. My patience and my trust had been rewarded.

“Reflecting on this experience, I saw the parallel with God’s guidance in our lives. Just as the connection of my bare feet on that path led me to my destination, when we feel lost or cannot see the path ahead, we can find the way if we remain connected to God.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – God will guide my feet on the right path

Prayer: Thank you, God, for being there when we feel unsure. Help us to trust that you will show us the way. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

