Simple faith needed to believe

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Sunday, May 14, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

Today’s scripture reading:

The disciples must have forgotten what Jesus had said about children. Jesus wanted little children to come to him because he loves them and because they have a guileless trust in God. He didn’t mean that heaven is only for children but that all people need childlike faith in God. The receptiveness of little children was a great contrast to the stubbornness of the religious leaders, who let their education and sophistication stand in the way of the simple faith needed to believe in Jesus. (NLT)

Matthew 19:13-15 – Some children were brought to Jesus so he could lay his hands on them and pray for them. The disciples told them not to bother him. But Jesus said, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to such as these.” And he put his hands on their heads and blessed them before he left.

Train children in the way they should go; when they grow old, they won’t depart from it. –Proverbs 22:6 (CEB)

Rebeca Boyadjian Fahmazian (Uruguay) titled her story “SEEDS OF FAITH;” here is a portion of Rebeca’s story:

“. . . I give thanks to God for my parents and their legacy of family prayer.

“I remember with fondness each night when my mother would place a worn carpet on the floor. She, my father, my three siblings, and I would sit in a circle as my mother read a daily devotional. Then she would open her Bible and read the scripture in her language. We all listened attentively. We would offer our reflections, and then my mother would ask us to join in a prayer.

“Today I begin each day reading a portion of scripture along with the daily devotional from . . . The Upper Room. The meditations and life experiences of our brothers and sisters around the world enrich my life. I treasure the seeds of faith my mother planted in us – the discipline of devotional reflection, Bible reading, and prayer. Her great faith continues to inspire me and keeps me centered on God’s will for my life.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – How might I plant the seed of faith in another?

Prayer: Creator God, thank you for the teachings and guidance of those whose faith has created the foundation of our own spiritual formation. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

