He is good; His faithful love endures forever

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Tuesday, May 16, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Confidence in God’s eternal love; God’s love is unchanging in the midst of changing situations. This gives us security. (NLT)

Psalm 118:26-29 – Bless the one who comes in the name of the Lord. We bless you from the house of the Lord. The Lord is God, shining upon us. Bring forward the sacrifice and put it on the altar. You are my God, and I will praise you! You are my God, and I will exalt you!

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! His faithful love endures forever.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. –1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NIV)

Mackenzie Jager (Michigan) titled her story “CHOOSING JOY;” here is Mackenzie’s story:

“I spent one summer in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan planning and leading children’s activities. Before I arrived I imagined that the other staff members would be friendly, that the children would behave angelically, and that I would spend my free time at the lake.

“As it turned out, the staff rarely acknowledged me, the kids refused to listen to directions and ran wild, and the weather was cold, overcast, and rainy most of the month. I became bitter and discontented as I longed for the summer that I had imagines and felt I deserved.

“I went for a walk on one of the rare sunny days, bundled up in sweatpants and a hoodie, and stood on the bridge over the cove. As I looked at God’s creation, I was astounded by the contrast between the tiny detail in the flower petals and the massive hundred-year-old trees. I exchanged my discontent for gratitude and joy.

“Every moment of the day, we have a choice: to compare life to our expectations or to thank God for what we have been given. We can rejoice in the small adventures and surprises that God hides inside every day for us to discover if we only give that day a chance.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – I can choose to give thanks joyfully for God’s love each day.

Prayer: Dear God, fill our hearts with your peace and joy, and teach us to treat each day as a gift. Amen.

Prayer Focus: CAMP COUNSELORS

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

