Dangerous to doubt or resent His timing

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, May 18, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Timing is important. All the experiences listed in these verses are appropriate at certain times. The secret to peace with God is to discover, accept, and appreciate God’s perfect timing. It is dangerous to doubt or resent His timing. This can lead to despair, rebellion, or moving ahead without his advice.  (NLT)

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 – There is a time for everything, a season for every activity under heaven. A time to be born and a time to die.  A time to plant and a time to harvest.  A time to kill and a time to heal.  A time to tear down and a time to rebuild.  A time to cry and a time to laugh.  A time to grieve and a time to dance.  A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.  A time to embrace and a time to turn away.  A time to search and a time to lose.  A time to keep and a time to throw away.  A time to tear and a time to mend.  A time to be quiet and a time to speak up.  A time to love and a time to hate.  A time for war and a time for peace.

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens; a time to be born and a time to die.  –Ecclesiastes 3:1-2 (NIV)

Alice M. Nathan (Missouri) titled her story “A MOTHER’S GIFT;” here is Alice’s story:

“My mother died on Mother’s Day – the day she and I usually celebrated by remembering when she gave birth to me and heard my first breath. But on that Mother’s Day I was telling my mother how much I loved her as she drew her last breath.  I kept thinking about all the priceless lessons she taught me, such as the importance of studying the Bible.

“In another time of loss, after my husband died, grief overwhelmed me. I fell into major depression.  I had to give up my career, and I contemplated suicide because I could see no end to my deepening depression.  Slowly, with the right medication and a good therapist, I began to work toward better health – spiritual, physical, and emotional.  As I recovered, another of my mother’s lessons helped me: The road of life may be difficult and seem impassible, but God will be with me all throughout my life’s journey – even when I do not feel God near me.

“Each Mother’s Day I now celebrate the memory of my mother and thank God for her legacy of unwavering faith and for the lessons she taught me by the example of her daily life and walk with God.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – I can find God’s presence in my life every day.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for the lessons we have learned from those whose faith is unwavering. Amen.

Prayer Focus: SOMEONE GRIEVING THE LOSS OF A MOTHER

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

