Only way to live a truly good life is to stay close to Him

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Friday, May 19, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/ May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb ♥


 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Many people try to be good, honest people who do what is right. But Jesus says that the only way to live a truly good life is to stay close to Him, like a branch attached to the vine. Apart from Christ our efforts are unfruitful. Are you receiving the nourishment and life offered by Christ, the vine? If not, you ae missing a special gift he has for you. (NLT) 

John 15:1-17 – [Jesus said] “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more. You have already been pruned for greater fruitfulness by the message I have given you. Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful apart from me.

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing. Anyone who parts from me is thrown away like a useless branch and withers. Such branches are gathered into a pile to be burned. But if you stay joined to me and my words remain in you, you may ask any request you like, and it will be granted! My true disciples produce much fruit. This brings great glory to my Father.

“I have loved you even as the Father has loved me. Remain in my love. When you obey me, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father and remain in his love. I have told you this so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your joy will overflow! I command you to love each other in the same way that I love you. And here is how to measure it—the greatest love is shown when people lay down their lives for their friends. You are my friends if you obey me. I no longer call you servants, because a master doesn’t confide in his servants. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me. You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go ad produce fruit that will last, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name. I command you to love each other.”

Jesus said, “Abide in me as I abide in you. Just as the branch cannot bear fruit by itself unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me.” –John 15:4 (NRSV)

Maaraidzo E. Mutambara (Mutare, Zimbabwe) titled her story “KEEP YOUR HEART IN TUNE;” here is a portion of Maaraidzo’s story:

“I woke up one morning, singing a song that my classmates and I sang many years before at our preschool graduation ceremony. The song emphasized the importance of praying in the morning, afternoon, and evening to ‘keep your heart in tune.’* I wondered, What does it mean to ‘keep your heart in tune”? As I searched for answers, I thought about tuning in each day to the TV or radio. I have learned they work best when turned to the right station.

“As human beings created by God, we are at our best when our hearts are tuned in to Jesus Christ. . . .

“. . . Connection to Jesus enables us to be the people God intends us to be.”

“ Whisper a Prayer,” words and music anonymous.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – I am at my best when I am connected to Jesus Christ.

Prayer: Dear God, help us to tune our hearts to Jesus Christ, the source of life. Amen.

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

