Do not take offense, do not dwell on other’s mistakes

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Wednesday, May 24, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

The title of today’s post, “Do not take offense, do not dwell on other’s mistakes,” was inspired by the story in The Upper Room, which is included below.

Today’s scripture reading:

Jesus used a child to help his self-centered disciples get the point. We are not to be childish (like the disciples, arguing over petty issues) but childlike, with humble and sincere hearts. Are you being childlike or childish? (NLT)

Matthew 18:1-5 – About that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Which of us is greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven?”

Jesus called a small child over to him and put the child among them. Then he said, “I assure you, unless you turn from your sins and become as little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven. Therefore, anyone who becomes as humble as this little child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven. And anyone who welcomes a little child like this on my behalf is welcoming me. . . .”

Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be children of your Father in heaven. –Matthew 5:44-45 (NRSV)

Amy Sutikdja (North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany) titled her story “MY DAUGHTER’S EXAMPLE;” here is Amy’s story:

“One day, my young daughter came home from school and told me, ‘My best friend is going to throw a birthday party, and she has already given out the invitations.’ I asked her whether she was invited. She answered, ‘No. My friend said she forgot to invite me. But it’s OK.’ Without sadness or apparent disappointment, she chatted happily about school.

“I remembered my own disappointment and anger when one of my co-workers did not invite me to her birthday party. I resented her for that.

“But Jesus reminds us that we should change and become like little children. My daughter’s response was a strong example of the attitude Jesus wants us to have. She did not take offense and did not dwell on her friend’s mistake. Often we are unable to do these simple things, so we fill the world with revenge, murder, and war. Inspired by my daughter’s example, I knelt down and prayed for God’s forgiveness and guidance.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Jesus, our example, forgave those who hurt him.

Prayer: Dear Lord Jesus, help us to follow your teachings. As you forgive us, help us forgive those who have hurt us. Amen.

Prayer Focus: FOR MY ENEMIES

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment