Let this cup of suffering be taken away from me

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Sunday, May 28, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s scripture reading:

Jesus was not rebelling against his Father’s will when he asked that the cup of suffering and separation be taken away. In fact, he reaffirmed his desire to God’s will by saying, “Yet I want your will, not mine.

In times of suffering people sometimes wish they knew the future, or they wish they could understand the reason for their anguish. Jesus knew what lay ahead of him, and he knew the reason. Even so, his struggle was intense—more wrenching than any struggle we will ever have to face. What does it take to be able to say, “I want your will”? It takes firm trust in God’s plans; it takes prayer and obedience each step of the way. (NLT)

Matthew 26:36-39 – Then Jesus brought them to an olive grove called Gethsemane, and he said, “Sit here while I go on ahead to pray.” He took Peter and Zebedee’s two sons, James and John, and he began to be filled with anguish and deep distress. He told them, “My soul is crushed with grief to the point of death. Stay here and watch with me.”

He went on a little farther and fell face down on the ground, praying, “My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me. Yet I want your will, not mine.”

Jesus prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.” –Matthew 26:39 (NIV)

Christopher C. Rowe (North Carolina) titled his story “I’VE GOT THIS?” Here is Christopher’s story:

“I keep a written copy of the verse quoted above in my wallet because reading it helps me to keep life in perspective. Too many times I have allowed arrogance and pride to dictate how I have approached difficult situations. Treating God’s word like a lucky charm I kept in my pocket, I would say to myself, ‘I’ve got this’ – thinking I had control of everything. If life got really tough, only then would I call on God and ask for the strength to make it through.

“Once I began regularly reading the Bible, I came to understand that if I rely on God’s strength at all times – not just when I am desperate – then God’s grace and power will guide me through those trying times as well.

“These words from Matthew’s Gospel taught me that even Jesus had a moment when he felt overwhelmed and needed to call on his Father for strength. If the Son of God needed to call on his Father in his moment of need, then certainly we too can call upon God to lead us every step of the way.”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – I will trust the path that God lays before me.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for guiding us through life, especially through challenges and overwhelming circumstances. Amen.

Prayer Focus: THOSE WHO FEEL SELF-SUFFICIENT

To read other stories in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

