He promises to demonstrate His power

Click on the following link for previous layout and posts: https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/

DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Thursday, June 8, 2017

For more Helpful Inspirational Material:

May you find comfort, encouragement, guidance, hope, inspiration, love, and peace – https://helpfulinspirationalblog.wordpress.com/. May you also find answers to your question(s) through the Scriptures that address every situation you face, and help with your problems. Deb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear Lord, open our hearts and our minds to the power of Your Word, that as we read, we may know, understand, and obey Your Word for us today. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. (author unknown)

Today’s scripture reading:

Although God did not remove Paul’s affliction, He promised to demonstrate His power in Paul. The fact that God’s power is displayed in our weaknesses should give us courage and hope. As we recognize our limitations, we will depend more on God for our effectiveness rather than on our own energy, effort, or talent. Our limitations not only help develop Christian character but also deepen our worship, because in admitting them, we affirm God’s strength. (NLT) He promises to demonstrate His power to us also.

2 Corinthians 12:6-10 – I have plenty to boast about and would be no fool in doing it, because I would be telling the truth. But I won’t do it. I don’t want anyone to think more highly of me than what they can actually see in my life and my message, even though I have received wonderful revelations from God. But to keep me from getting puffed up, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from getting proud.

Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may work through me. Since I know it is all for Christ’s good, I am quite content with my weaknesses and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good. His love endures forever. –Psalm 136:1 (NIV)

Tina Chaves (New Jersey) titled her story “GOD IS GOOD;” here is a portion of Tina’s story:

“Several years ago, I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis. A few years after my diagnosis, I went through months of debilitating pain. At that time, I was unable to do much at all. . . . But through it all, I knew God was with me and would take care of me.

“Previously I had battled depression and struggled with the death of my fiancé, but I had experienced God’s goodness through the support of others and the encouragement from scripture such as the verse quoted above. This new pain was difficult, but God’s care made it more tolerable and gave me joy. Some of my friends were baffled. They couldn’t understand how I could have such joy in the midst of my suffering. After all, wasn’t God the one who was allowing this? I explained to them that because of God’s tender care in my darkest hours, I have come to know that God is good and remains a steadfast, caring presence at all times.

“God is good, even when we lose our jobs. God is good, even when a marriage fails. God is good, even when a loved one dies. And yes, God is good, even when we have debilitating pain. God is good all the time, and it is precisely our faith in God’s unceasing goodness that can give us outrageous and contagious joy. God is truly good all the time!”

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY – Even when circumstances are bad, God is good.

Prayer: Thank you, God, for your love. Help us to have faith in your goodness so that we can share our joy with others even when life is difficult. Amen.

Prayer Focus: PEOPLE WITH RHEUMATOID ARTHRITIS

To read the rest of the story in The Upper Room, click on the following link: http://devotional.upperroom.org/

This entry was posted in Comfort, Encouragement, Guidance, Hope, Inspiration, Love, Peace and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

